We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Cafe

Banana Cafe
1215 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040
(305) 294-7227
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Banana Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 355 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $6 - $26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Louisa Street
Transit: Bus stop half block away
Description: A classical French Cafe, After nearly 20 years, Banana Cafe is still owned and managed by the original founders and continues to offer for breakfast, lunch and dinner the best of France in a relaxed indoor and outdoor dining overlooking fantastic Duval Street. We have a beautiful french cafe upstairs who seat up to 25 dinner, and up to 50 for a cocktail party, personnel bar, private outdoor,private bathroom. From regional crepe and onion soup au gratin, to luscious Caribbean salads and country hearty sandwiches, perfect Parisian steak/frites or rare traditional specialties such as coq au vin and bouillabaisse, as well as a vast array of fresh local seafood selected every day to be grilled, sauteed, baked or roasted with a choice of unctuous sauces and accompaniments from the far corner of France: goat-cheese potato roulade, croquette of pomme de terre, Parisian gnocchi, rice pilaf
1 review
“Great breakfast place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

What an awesome spot for breakfast, highly recommend the crepes with mushroom sauce..coffee was the best I've had on my trip and the French speaking owner running around making sure everything is running properly adds legitimacy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
So very kind to share your comments. For anyone interested, many of the Banana Cafe recipes
are published in our Banana Cafe Cookbook which is available at the cafe, including the delicious
mushroom sauce. We hope you will visit again soon and perhaps consider us for lunch or dinner.

bon appétit,
Michael,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    872
    405
    127
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best in the East”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is the best French/American restaurant I have eaten at in years. The service is superb. The menu is varied (fish, chicken, beef, vegetarian), the preparation and presentation is beautiful. And the prices are reasonable--for this quality food and for Key West FL.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
You are very kind to suggest that we are "best in the East". We blush. :)
Please visit Banana Cafe again very soon.

bon appétit,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious crepes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a wonderful brunch here! It's a small place but we sat at the front open window - great people watching. The crepes? OMG! Over the top!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience. Perhaps we are a bit larger than you thought, please
check out our upstairs dining area which includes another interior dining room as well as an
outside terrace with wonderful views overlooking Duval St. Please come again.

bon appétit,
Michael,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“BEST BREAKFAST!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Our waiter suggested the home fries! They came just as he described! Delicious! Thyme and rosemary were the key ingredients! I could've eaten more!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Alas...secret is out regarding our tasty potatoes. It is indeed seasoning and the rosemary especially enhances our home fries preparation. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit
to Banana Cafe and hope you'll return soon, perhaps for a lunch or dinner.

bon appétit,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awesome crepes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great find on the quiet side of Duval Street for a late breakfast...they serve until 3 pm! The variety and combinations of crepe flavors are absolutely incredible and better than we had anywhere. The 2nd floor seating has a wonderful view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bananakw, Guest Relations Manager at Banana Cafe, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thanks for your very sweet thoughts. We indeed serve breakfast and lunch from 8am to 3pm,
then reopen for dinner from 6pm to 10pm, reservations for dinner are suggested, but not required.
The upstairs dining area includes both an interior dining room and the terrace overlooking Duval St. The terrace has large shady umbrellas for those warm days when a little shade helps keep
us cool.

bon appétit,
Michael,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Banana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.