We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming place in Key West where we felt very welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Authors of Key West Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Authors of Key West Guesthouse to your Saves list
Authors of Key West Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   725 White Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Key West
1 review
“charming place in Key West where we felt very welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. We were greeted very friendly and received tips were to go and how to get there. Hotel is in walking-distance to most major sights. Rooms were clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    116
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
198
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

after a long but beautiful drive from Miami we were warmly greeted by the hostess who was very informative without being intrusive. our room was spacious and clean with air con, fan and well equipped (fridge, wardrobe, commode, ... ). A chilled (with hot option) filtered water dispenser and a ice machine are free to use in the common area. the free descent breakfast is served in a cosy topical garden and a warm pool/spa is perfect after a day out! we could park our car in front of the house for the 3 days we staid for no additional charge. the location is perfect: it is in a quite area (perfect for a good night sleep) yet at walking distance to the main buzz of Duval street, Mallory square and the marina, and equal distance to the Higgins beach (although we were not impressed with the beach,but hey, it's key west!).
we'd definitely stay there again... thanks

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Only stayed one night. Accomodations were ok but nothing special. Place looks a little run down from what I could see. Off the beaten path but fairly close to the wharf. Nothing around so you have to walk or drive several blocks for everything. Although the hostess/receptionist was extremely nice and helpful, most likely would not stay here in the future

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sassenheim, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in The Artists Room in this B&B, liked it. The welcome of the hostess was very
friendly and informative. We where shown to a nice room with sufficient space, a tv, aircon and a small but good bathroom. The decoration of the room really brought it alive and we felt right at home. Complimentary breakfast is simple but ok, and is served in the lovely courtyard. If there is no space you can dine in front of our own room, because it had private seating. Really lovely to have a drink before heading back into town for dinner.

Not right around the corner of the busy Duval street, but in a nice neighborhood. The advantage is that parking is easy and free of charge. It is a 15 minute walk to Duval street, and if you want to move around town a bit quicker you can rent bikes.

Would have gotten a higher rating if the breakfast would be more complete, offering more than sweet stuff and a bagel, if the building got a little paint and maintenance (nothing worrying!), and if the WiFi was working better. Still very much recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Authors and could not have been more pleased. Room was clean and comfortable and the gardens and deck were wonderful for a quiet time sitting and sipping a glass of wine. The hot tub was great too! Breakfast was simple but adequate. We walked to all of the Key West attractions such as Mallory Square and Hemmingway's. Bikes are a good alternative and easily arranged through Authors. Landon was most helpful. For the price, this is a Key West gem that we would definitely choose another time.

Room Tip: Some upper rooms have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice property, far from the bustle of Duval. We stayed a total of 3 nights, and enjoyed our stay. The family style courtyard was a nice way to interact with the other guests. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate to us consisting of bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice. The property is very comfortable and quiet (especially at night when you want to sleep). The room was serviced daily while we were out and about. The bed was comfortable, AC worked fine, morning sun was not a bother in our room that opened out on the the pool/hot tub (the Hellman room). The only complaint is that the water in the shower has a tendency to be lukewarm or scalding hot depending on (my guess) the temperature of the water that is being used elsewhere. If you go down a few blocks to US1 and turn right, there is a great bike rental place called The Bike Shop and you get a 12.00 a day nice bike which gets you all over the island without a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Author's of Key West for only 1 short night of my 40th birthday. It was great, just what you would expect for Key West. Quiet placement away from Duval street, but across the street from a great little cuban restaurant.

Room Tip: Thorton Wilder room was a good choice with ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Authors of Key West Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authors of Key West Guesthouse

Address: 725 White Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Authors of Key West Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Authors of Key West Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Authors Key West Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authors of Key West Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.