We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great escape in Key West” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Authors of Key West Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Authors of Key West Guesthouse to your Saves list
Authors of Key West Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   725 White Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great escape in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Authors and could not have been more pleased. Room was clean and comfortable and the gardens and deck were wonderful for a quiet time sitting and sipping a glass of wine. The hot tub was great too! Breakfast was simple but adequate. We walked to all of the Key West attractions such as Mallory Square and Hemmingway's. Bikes are a good alternative and easily arranged through Authors. Landon was most helpful. For the price, this is a Key West gem that we would definitely choose another time.

Room Tip: Some upper rooms have a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    121
    30
    10
    5
See reviews for
49
205
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Nice property, far from the bustle of Duval. We stayed a total of 3 nights, and enjoyed our stay. The family style courtyard was a nice way to interact with the other guests. Breakfast in the morning was more than adequate to us consisting of bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee, juice. The property is very comfortable and quiet (especially at night when you want to sleep). The room was serviced daily while we were out and about. The bed was comfortable, AC worked fine, morning sun was not a bother in our room that opened out on the the pool/hot tub (the Hellman room). The only complaint is that the water in the shower has a tendency to be lukewarm or scalding hot depending on (my guess) the temperature of the water that is being used elsewhere. If you go down a few blocks to US1 and turn right, there is a great bike rental place called The Bike Shop and you get a 12.00 a day nice bike which gets you all over the island without a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at Author's of Key West for only 1 short night of my 40th birthday. It was great, just what you would expect for Key West. Quiet placement away from Duval street, but across the street from a great little cuban restaurant.

Room Tip: Thorton Wilder room was a good choice with ample space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, comfortable, super cute room (tempurpedic bed!), nice staff. And the price was certainly right compared to other places I looked at.

They serve a very light continental breakfast on the patio in the mornings, which is nice, and have a little pool. Well, really more of a lukewarm hot tub but great for a dip before bed.

The downside for me was the location. Authors is a 15-20 minute walk to Duval Street and even farther to Mallory Square and the beaches. Not far in the morning, but it felt like an epic journey after a long, hot day of sightseeing. Also, they're right on White Street (which gets quite busy in the mornings) and directly under the flight path of the airport. A different room might be better, but for me the street noise didn't let me sleep past about 7:30.

All in all, I would stay here again but would probably look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: I had the Library - cute, really spacious (tiny shower though), but A LOT of street noise and creaki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Authors and were pleasantly surprised. Though about a twenty minute walk from Duvall Streeet, the location offers perks you wouldn't otherwise find, such as parking and convenience shops nearby. The rooms are pleasant and clean, and the staff helpful. The pool, though tiny, was very nice and also clean. The only (slight) negative: Breakfast, though free, was a bit simple. Bagels, coffee, juice, and that's about it. But definitely a place I will stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spend 4 nights here in February 2013 and had a great stay. We were welcomed by a friendly lady that showed us around and gave us information about Key West and its attractions and restaurants. It's a bit of a walk to Duval Street (15 minutes) but we had fun walking different routes through nice streets and across the impressive cemetery. There are some nice restaurants nearby, including Haitian, Peruvian (just across the street) and Italian. The place is comfortable and quiet. We had the Tennessee Williams cottage for the two of us, so plenty of space and a private porch to have a drink or breakfast if you like. Breakfast is basic but all you need and enough to get you started. I found it a charming place though in general some parts need a bit of an upgrade. The price is right though, certainly for that time and compared to overpriced B&B's elsewhere. Enjoyed it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a small place to rent for a week that had all of the following amenities: wi fi, bedroom, private entrance, security, kitchen and living room. We found this at Authors of Key West Guesthouse. This privately owned guesthouse has some rooms with bathrooms, but it also has 2 separate cottages on the facility to rent. We chose to rent one of the cottages. It had our own front porch that we could sit out on at night to enjoy a glass of wine. There is a small pool/hot tub on location. The building has lovely small garden area, and they serve free light breakfast every morning. It is right in the middle of Old Town, and only a few blocks from Key West Cemetery. We felt safe knowing that the parameter of the facility was locked up at night so that no one could get into the area without the appropriate keys.

We ejnoyed our stay here very much, and we'd definitely consder coming back again and choosing to stay at Authors of Key West Guesthouse. The staff was very friendly, and very helpful. There is even a place inside to park your rental bikes if you choose to rent bikes. We were able to park our car right out in front of the facility with no problems.

This is not a fancy hotel like facilty. it has a summer cottage feel to it. So don't expect luxury, but do expect to feel comfortable. There are not a lot of units so it is a quiet place, and I liked that very much. They also have a resident cat, Callie that lives on premisis. We enjoy her company every morning when she greeted us at our door.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Authors of Key West Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authors of Key West Guesthouse

Address: 725 White Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Authors of Key West Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Authors of Key West Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Authors Key West Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authors of Key West Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.