We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Authors of Key West Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Authors of Key West Guesthouse to your Saves list
Authors of Key West Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   725 White Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
pescara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was there with my wife and had the pleasure to meet the nice Tippy, she was extremely kind and full of nice suggestions about what to do, where to go, and moreover she is incredibly funny!
I didn't have the chance to greet her in person when i left, so this is the right time to say TIPPY THANK YOU VERY MUCH and see you next time!
The B&B is a quiet place, far from noises of Duval Street, but olan to use car to reach the city center if u feel tired after a day of strolls and/or beach.
Breakfast is a self service small breakfast in the tropical garden, nothing exceptional, but useful to turn up ur gears lol
rooms are clean and everyone there is very very kind and professional.
Dont' worry if u plan a late check in, they will let u find everything ready
My rating? 4 stars for the place, 5 stars for Tippy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    116
    25
    10
    5
See reviews for
42
197
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here at the end of February, and couldn't have been happier. The staff were friendly and helpful, from the reservation to the check out. They even went the extra step, getting my friend's shoes to him that he accidentally left behind. We had the Tennessee Williams cottage, which was very comfortable, romantic, and cozy. It was in a quiet location, away from Duval street, but which we still accessed easily by renting bikes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights this month. It is located right on the border of the old Key West and new Key West. The advantage of that is it is a bit quieter and closer to the Publix grocery store (nice salad bar) in new Key West, allowing us to get food without having to pay Duvall Street prices for every meal. We stayed in the McCullers room. It was small, only enough room for a bed, TV, small closet, bath and fridge, but adequate. The room was sheltered from the road traffic noise, plus it's own sitting area outside. The breakfast consisted of bagels, tea, coffee, fruit and yogurt, which we enjoyed. Purified water and a place to lock your bike were bonuses. It could use some updates, but nothing major. Overall, thumbs up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed here for 4 nights in fall '12. Rooms were good sized and clean, though the property is showing its age. Great staff that was very helpful. I would recommend this to friends. We stayed in the Williams room, which was like a little cottage, complete with kitchenette.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We had 2 rooms here in February for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay. Nice clean hotel, though starting to look a little dated. Enjoyed the breakfast, the seating area and the hot tub/ small pool. Nice atmosphere, very cosy and sheltered from what is a fairly noisy/busy street. Would advise taking a room further from the street if you're a light sleeper-we slept with the a/c on to dull the noise. All staff very friendly, especially Tippi who helped us book a kayaking excursion - she's a ball of fire!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed three days (two nights) at the Authors of Key West guesthouse for our 24th anniversary, it was a very pleasant experience for us.

All the staff we encountered were extremely friendly & accommodating towards us; Carol & Tippi in the office both provided us with sincere and very helpful information to make our stay at the Guesthouse and exploring the city exceptional.

Tippi is such a great asset to this location, she was even went above and beyond offering to keep our luggage behind the counter after checkout so we could continue to enjoy the city the rest of the day before we boarded the ferry back to Fort Myers!

The rooms are not fancy but they have more than enough room, they may be simply decorated but are very clean; something that is extremely important to any traveler.

The Authors KWGH provides a simple but more than adequate continental breakfast each morning @ 9:00am to get your day started; there were two selections of fresh fruit, containers of yogurt, two selections of packaged bagels (with a toaster available if you wished), Orange juice and fresh brewed coffee along with all the necessary condiments.

One thing we thought might perhaps be an improvement would be to have breakfast available say 8:00-8:15 for those who were earlier risers and wanted a bite to eat and coffee at the guesthouse before venturing out to enjoy Lovely Key West instead of waiting until 9:30ish to get started; but perhaps this time works better for the Guesthouse as we noticed the office hours posted as 9:00am - 6:00pm.

As we said the room we had (Helman) was a more than adequate size, very clean and also had a mini fridge, small microwave, cable and free WI-FI which is a real plus; the negative for us would have to be that the mattress was not very comfortable, hence the earlier than normal rising (6:00am each morning) because we just could not stay in bed any longer and also the room pillows that were very thin and flat, even when doubled over.

Our best recommendation would be to upgrade both of these with something better; it would make all the difference in the world to travelers like us.

Other than that it was a wonderful experience, the excellent staff and convenient location made The Authors a place we would not hesitate to come back to again; as a matter of fact I am already planning our next trip for January 2014 to celebrate our 25th anniversary and a return trip to Authors of Key West Guesthouse is absolutely being considered; hopefully during our next stay we can enjoy one of the Cottage's available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This adorable hotel was comfortable, clean, and quite cute. While not RIGHT NEXT to any one thing in Key West, it is close to EVERYTHING (which is much better, I think). It also has a beautiful little courtyard that is a perfect writing spot. And, when I had a scheduling problem with my flight, the staff made sure I had a room to stay in and that switching rooms required no effort from me. A great experience.

Room Tip: The second floor feels more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Authors of Key West Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Authors of Key West Guesthouse

Address: 725 White Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Authors of Key West Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Authors of Key West Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Authors Key West Guesthouse Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Authors of Key West Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.