We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Piece of Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duval Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Duval Inn
Save
You added The Duval Inn to your Saves list
511 Angela Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Piece of Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We found Duval Inn back in 2007.. We stayed again in 08 when we went to Key West and got married. We loved it back then and love it more now. Rooms were all redone. Beautiful quaint but very modern. We stayed in the mango room. We love it there! Perfect location off Duval so you can actually rest. Continental breakfast is really good. Property is so pretty! Another great vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    99
    18
    9
    6
See reviews for
45
364
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Inn's website shows rooms looking quite charming. The Caroline room was not. The comfortable bed faced a large open TV cabinet that couldn't close because of the placement of the refrigerator, and so our view from bed was of an old TV. The four windows had brown venetian blinds. The headboard of the bed was in front of two windows which didn't open. Only one of the side windows, which faced the parking lot, opened. The bathroom shower was small and there was no place in the bathroom for towels. The continental breakfast was adequate and there was a pleasant little garden to enjoy it in. We did not join others for happy hour or use the pool. Perhaps people who do have a more positive experience here. The location is very good, quiet and yet very close to Duval Street. I know prices are high in February in Key West, but we had a far more charming room with an ocean view in South Beach for less money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmaus, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Duval Inn for two nights on our first visit to Key West. The inn was chosen for its location and generally good reviews on Trip Advisor. Our stay confirmed that we had made the right choice both for location, accommodations, and service. The inn is located just 1 block off the busy and touristy Duval Street, but though it borders this busy and noisy street, it is like a quiet and safe haven, an enclave of relaxation and peace. All the better restaurants in Key West are a short walk away and the inn borders many charming residential neighborhoods in Old Key West. The inn is a very short walk to the Hemingway House, the Truman White House, and the waterfront shops and restaurants. We stayed in the main inn building in the Key West room which has a small balcony outside a separate entrance which was very convenient. The room was fantastic, clean, comfortable, and charming with wood slat walls and ceiling and a king size bed.
The Inn provides a continental breakfast each morning. The breakfast was very generous with bagels, yogurt, cereals, hard boiled eggs, mini quiches, pastries, juices, coffee and tea. Guests have a choice of eating locations but the courtyard by the pool area was comfortable and fun.
The inn encourages interaction between guests which in Key West can be fascinating. We met other travelers from the US, particularly the NorthEast, but also travelers from Canada, Germany, and Italy.
The Inn also has an open bar/happy hour each evening from 5 to 6 at the tiki bar by the pool area. The bartender host happily provides beer, wines, and mixed drinks to all guests. Happy hour proved a great time to mingle with other guests and plan other activities during our stay in Key West.
The Duvall Inn just does it right on all counts---the accommodations, the service to guests, and the activities provided besides the basic.
If we ever get back to Key West, we will not even consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My fiance and I came down for a night that ended up being two because we loved the place sooo much. We stayed in the Andora room the first night (great space and very clean) and the Hibiscus the second night (again, very clean). The beds are very comfortable!!! The location couldn't be better. Literally one block from Duval and just a little more than half way so you are in the thick of all the happenings, but you would never know it when you are at the B&B (very quite and laid back). We were able to meet the owner, Corey on our way out. What a great host! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at the Duval Inn feb 1st thru 4......first location....perfect. Steps from World famous Duval st. We stayed in the orchid room. Beautiful very clean. I would give service ten stars. Everyone there was so nice. Happy hour daily in their beautiful garden....best afternoons ever. Breakfast daily at 830. Good island breakfast. I had read one review that breakfast was awful.....not true. We are planning on returning next year for Valentine's day week....and we will definitely be staying at the Duval Inn! !!! Counting down the days. Bed and breakfast at its best!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed at Duval Inn for last year's Fantasy Fest. Could've have chosen a better location. Perfectly situated mid-way near Duval Street. Kat was super-friendly and helpful. Room was Key West-small, but was expected. Very clean and all we needed. Loved, loved Happy Hour each evening. Made us miss Mallory Square! Breakfast was so-so, but it was adequate. Pool and grounds really nice. Already booked for next year! Only drawback were the roosters that couldn't quite understand they needed NOT to crow all night! Much louder than Duval Street!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Perfect spot for a few days visit, just 1/2 block off Duval Street. Beautiful place to rest your head after spending the days and nights discovering the sights and sounds of Key West. We especially enjoyed the little court yard by our rooms where we had a nightcap and talked about our adventures of the day. We loved it and will definitely go back. It was our first experience in a bed and breakfast and it was delightful. Thanks again Duval Inn for helping to make our first visit to Key West a great one!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duval Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval Inn

Address: 511 Angela Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon one of the most advantageous blocks on the island, the Duval Inn is steps away from Duval Street, but our poolside lounges are just far enough away from the excitement to coax our guests into peaceful naps. Clean, fresh rooms with all the charm you'd expect from a tropical Inn, yet each room has all the amenities you would find at a modern hotel. Welcome to Paradise. Welcome to the Duval Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Duval Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duval Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.