We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet deal in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Duval Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Duval Inn to your Saves list
The Duval Inn
511 Angela Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manasquan, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sweet deal in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

First time to Key West. Loved this little Inn, great location to the fun stuff in town for getting to everything. Loved the pond like pool, had a nice dip. Beautiful room with ceiling fans sitting table for snacking. Super treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    107
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
49
382
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

Best deal in Key West! My sister and I had the pleasure of staying at The Duval Inn for three fabulous nights. The Inn is perfectly quaint Key West style. The Lauren room was beautifully decorated and the bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very warm and welcoming. Especially Bartender Roy (who we fondly referred to as Kevin) and Kat at the front desk.

We loved everything about this Inn. The location, the comfy pool chairs, the patio and gardens, FREE happy hour and breakfast every morning.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was mine and my husband’s first time at a bed and breakfast so we didn’t really know what to expect. We stayed in the Dolphin room, separate from the main house, and it was lovely. The bed was quite comfortable and the pillows were heaven. We had control of our own AC and could make the room whatever temperature we liked. The shared bathroom down the hall was good as well. It was pretty big, although my tall husband with a wide wing span found the shower a bit tight. The cocktail hour was a nice touch and they had the basics to make you what you needed. We were really enjoying the bed and breakfast experience until breakfast time the next morning. The breakfast was exactly like a continental breakfast at a standard Holiday Inn. There was nothing hot to eat, unless you count toasting a bagel. They had mini little quiches and the bare minimum of fruit to eat – a few apples and orange slices. They had cereal and bagels. We were expecting something a little more from a bed and Breakfast, scrambled eggs at least, but they had nothing of the sort. We had to go out and get breakfast elsewhere. We weren’t the only ones who felt that way either. We overheard another family saying they would have to go somewhere else for breakfast too. I don't feel like you should have to go to breakfast somewhere else when you're staying somewhere described as a bed and breakfast. So overall we give the Duval Inn a 2.5 out of 5 with a wonderful bed and a disappointing breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nboater, Owner at The Duval Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
First of all we want to thank this guest for their comments on the room and the bed. As to the disappointing breakfast, a continental breakfast is a very simple light, nutritious and healthy meal which traditionally consists of four or five dishes. It is typical to include pastries, yogurt, perhaps some butter, jam or marmalade, juices, cereals and fresh fruit, enough to get you going in the morning. This type of breakfast is meant to be quick and light, not a full meal that will satiate a person’s hunger for many hours. It is rare to find heavy foods such as cooked meat, pancakes or potatoes. We follow this tradition and clearly state on our website that we serve a continental Island Breakfast. If this guest had inquired about the breakfast when checking in we would have been happy to explain our morning menu. We try to please and accommodate everyone but that is not always possible. So that there will be no future misunderstandings on this we have now posted a menu of our Continental Island Breakfast online.

Sincerely,
Cory Hanson
Duval Inn Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

This was a nice inn. One block off Duval Street worked well. We arrived a few minutes before the end of happy hour. Roy extended happy hour a little to allow us time to get our things in the room. Our room was nice and clean. The room was small but well appointed. If you are looking for a sofa and desk in your room, this is not the place. However, if you want a nice clean place to lay your head at a great price this fits the bill. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I really searched for a great place to stay for our first official vacation together. I love Key West and this place made me love it even more! The location is great! It's right off Duval Street but far enough back so you can't hear anything. We came right when Tropical Storm Debbie went through. The woman was kind enough to offer some suggestions of extra things to do since our water sports reservation was cancelled last minute. This place made our trip. I won't stay anywhere else but here when I visit Key West again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

First off...location- half a block from Duval St. The best part about the location is that you can walk just about everywhere, but it is also quiet. We were about 3 blocks from the party/big bar scene and right near a lot of cute shops and galleries. Close enought to walk to the Hemingway house, Mallory Square, butterfly conservatory, Lighthouse, etc.

We stayed in the Catherine room which is perfect for couples- super clean and a very nice room.

They do provide parking for an additional $10 a day which is well worth it. There is a little bar at the pool where they have a nice happy hour from 5-6 each day.

The staff was very polite and nice, and not overly intrusive whcih sometimes happens at B&Bs. They let you do your own thing.

Even if you don't stay here, do not go to a B&B without a pool- you will regret it.

Don't miss the 7:15 cat show at Mallory Square- hysterical!

Room Tip: The Catherine room was very nice and it is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Duval Inn in July. The weather in Key West was horrendous, so we were unable to enjoy happy hour each evening. But we did enjoy breakfast and pool one evening, which has a lovely garden feel. We had two couples / two rooms. The Lauren Room in the main house was fantastic with the exception of some minor repairs. It was large, lots of windows, comfortable 4 poster bed, etc. However, the Leaf Room in the outer building smelled wet (like mold) and was quite cramped. The location was top notch just steps away from Duval Street and all major attractions. Each island end was very close. Easy walk to The Southernmost Point to the left (10 Minutes walk) and the Sunset Celebration to the right (10 minutes walk). And all the way in between were shops, restaurants and bars. Staff was pleasant, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Lauren Room in the Main House was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Duval Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duval Inn

Address: 511 Angela Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built upon one of the most advantageous blocks on the island, the Duval Inn is steps away from Duval Street, but our poolside lounges are just far enough away from the excitement to coax our guests into peaceful naps. Clean, fresh rooms with all the charm you'd expect from a tropical Inn, yet each room has all the amenities you would find at a modern hotel. Welcome to Paradise. Welcome to the Duval Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Duval Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duval Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Duval Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.