We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the new square one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Square One

Square One
1075 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-296-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Square One is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Square One
Transit: The Key West Bus Route stops one block away at The Gato Building next to the restaurant"s Simonton Street parking lot.
Description: The restaurant's New American cuisine features "chef driven" ethnic twists on classic recipes that combine innovative global flavors. the Square One team of chefs take many old world dishes and transforms them through luxury ingredients and contemporary gastronomy featuring significant creative use of seasonal produce, regional herbs, exotic spices, fresh colorful foods, interesting sauces and homemade condiments. An eclectic offering of fine boutique wines, craft beers and innovative cocktails complement the cuisine. Enjoy your Square One dining experience in their sophisticated, yet truly upbeat, Key West ambiance all while being expertly attended by professional, dedicated servers.Square One is open every evening for Dinner. FREE PARKING in our parking lot.
bradenton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the new square one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014 NEW

very good food and wonderful service near the quiet end of Duval. Outside dining with a different menu than usually found.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    93
    32
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Worth checking out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2014 NEW

Great service at bar and outside tables. Fresh food, good presentation. He beef carpaccio was fabulous. We are going back!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Funky, interesting food, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

Located in Duval square, this was place "the bomb". Interesting food, nicely served and prepared. Waiters were very attentive and nice.

They have odd-ball items on the menu that you simply have to try. Don't let the menu upfront fool you into thinking that this place might not be for you. Great salad, great soup, great drinks.
Especially try the Scallops.

I'm still surprised that it's not 100% full at all times. We're pretty picky eaters, but somehow this place gets overlooked a bit in Key West.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“charming restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014 NEW

came here on my own, really friendly staff - felt very welcome. Had a salad with crab & lobster (delicious!) and a glass of good Sauvignon Blanc. Food arrived within minutes, almost a shame that everything went by fast. was seated outside but liked the interior too. would definitely recommend this place to fellow travelers who want delicious food at a nice place.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“excellent newly changed ownership, nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We have been going to Key West for 30 + years and always look for different restaurants. When we saw the new, innovative menu at Square One we had to try it. The decor was nicely done and a big change from the original Square One. Lighting was perfect, the chairs very comfortable, service excellent and the sound level was good( easy to have conversations). A well thought out wine list, too. We had a couple of small plates, the first was "pulled pork on toast. It was one of the best combinations of flavors we have ever had! Next a Croque Madam, also great! Now for the negative minor items. We had an order of Potatoes Au Gratin that came in a small frying pan but they were dry and tasteless. Some gooey cheese sauce or cream/butter sauce is sorely needed.
As a lover of bread pudding I ordered Croissant Bread Pudding for dessert. Overall good but the recipe had chocolate chips in it. The chips added a very unneeded dimension to the dish. It would have been a 10 if the chips were left out.
Our server was very knowledgeable and every thing was timed perfectly. Will we go there again? YES!

  • Visited December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.