We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Square One

Square One
1075 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-296-4300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Square One is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #55 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Square One
Transit: The Key West Bus Route stops one block away at The Gato Building next to the restaurant"s Simonton Street parking lot.
Description: The restaurant's New American cuisine features "chef driven" ethnic twists on classic recipes that combine innovative global flavors. the Square One team of chefs take many old world dishes and transforms them through luxury ingredients and contemporary gastronomy featuring significant creative use of seasonal produce, regional herbs, exotic spices, fresh colorful foods, interesting sauces and homemade condiments. An eclectic offering of fine boutique wines, craft beers and innovative cocktails complement the cuisine. Enjoy your Square One dining experience in their sophisticated, yet truly upbeat, Key West ambiance all while being expertly attended by professional, dedicated servers.Square One is open every evening for Dinner. FREE PARKING in our parking lot.
Mercerville, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went to Square One for our "great dinner night." It wasn't! The food was OK but we were expediting great! Out of the four of us, I lucked out with the veggie lasagna. The short ribs had a great flavor but were very fatty, the fish was tasteless & the shrimp wrapped in prosciutto was salty. Mediocre food was not what we had anticipated. We all would suggest you spend your hard earned cash elsewhere. The server & service was exemplary! Too bad the food wasn't.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Your comments are a bit confusing since we have never served a veggie lasagna, so although you claim to have enjoyed something that we do not serve responding is a bit awkward.
The prosciutto is cured in salt so it does leech into whatever it is served with when cooked, those familiar with prosciutto might appreciate this salty flavor. I understand your feelings though, as I too found it a bit too salty. We have recently removed this item from the menu. The short ribs are an extremely popular item and yours is the first complaints I recall. We wish that you had brought these issues to the attention of your server or the manager on duty (who is also most likely an owner). They would have either offered to remove the item from your check or to prepare another entree for you expeditiously. This is the great service that we are known for and for which you also commended us. Communication is so important. Please return and give us another chance to bring a smile to your tastebuds.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    92
    30
    17
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

With all the great restaurants in Key West you can skip this one. I had the shrimp risotto. The shrimp was wrapped in prosciutto..... when you do this and bake the shrimp all the salt comes out od the prosciutto and ruins the shrimp. My wife had the seafood hot pot and did not enjoy it. The fish was tasteless, the shrimp was tough. I do not recommend this place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for providing your feedback. Had you mentioned this to your server or the manager on duty, who is usually an owner as well, your meals would be removed from your bill and/or another offered. Our guests leave overwhelming positive feedback and we do appreciate there are many wonderful restaurants in Key West. We are also very sensitive to quality and value.

Shrimp is mild in flavor and you are correct regarding the prosciutto, but knowing your taste for salt our server could also have guided you through the menu if this was an issue for you. The seafood hot pot is an intensely flavored asian stew. The seafood is mild and bathed in a melange of aromatic flavors. This would not be the dish for you if you wanted to simply enjoy the flavor and texture of fish alone. Communication is so important when ordering. This would have also saved you money on a meal you did not enjoy. This is never the result we want and hope you'll return for another meal.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best meal of my life, must eat the lobster lasagna.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My wife and I stumbled on this restaurant while walking down Duval st. Little did we know we were about to eat the best meal of our lives. I have actually never written a review in my life until I had eaten here. That's how impressed I am. Lasagna is divine and profiteroles are the freshest I have ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We're very happy that you were pleased with the seafood lasagna.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were celebrating my husband's birthday and just happened upon this restaurant in Duval Square. Sure am glad we did. It is an elegant five star restaurant with casual attire and the hostess was so nice and charismatic, an absolute asset to the business. The food was spectacular, each dish prepared with great care. From spaghetti bolognese to whole lobster stuffed with crab meat everything was delicious and seasoned well. It was a nice touch at dinner's end that they brought out a large slice of key lime pie with a sparkler in it to celebrate the occasion. We will definitely make it a point to dine here again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We are grateful to host your family birthday celebration. In Key West tradition guests at Square One can feel comfortable wether dressed up or down. Casual attire is very much the routine for most of us on the island, but we do take our food very seriously. Thanks for sharing your experience.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Over the top”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

From reading other reviews I was expecting an excellent experience. Well, it was an incredibly excellent experience. We dined at 8pm on a Sunday and tables quickly filled up. We choose outside seating overlooking a pleasant little square with nearby shops and a rival restaurant.
Our server was knowledgeable and never hovered, always appearing just in time to top up wine glasses or whisk away plates. Hubby and I ordered the Burrata of Fresh Mozzarella to start. Portions were generous and the mozzarella was the best we had ever had - truly fresh.
Hubby ordered the Seafood "hot pot" which came with perfectly prepared scallops, mussels, shrimp and chunks of local fish in a delicious red curry coconut sauce. Seafood dishes are hubby's favorite and this one lined up with the very best he has ever had.
My Beef Pot-au-Feu was incredible. Short ribs oven braised for hours making them just tender and falling off the bone. Add to that the Korean sauce and kimchi to give it a little kick, include some delicious root vegetables, and you have the makings of a perfect meal.
Then, our server gently talked us into trying the Key Lime pie, of which we have had many times in many places and were therefore not expecting anything outstanding, to find that once again here was one amazing dessert to cap off a fantastic dining experience. Well done people.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquareOneKeyWest, Guest Relations Manager at Square One, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
You're also very generous to leave such kind remarks. Hope to see you again at Square One.

Namaste,
Michael
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Square One also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Square One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Square One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.