We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place with Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sloppy Joe's

Sloppy Joe's
201 Duval St., Key West, FL 33040
305-294-5717
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #147 of 381 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Fun place with Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Key West is a world of restaurants, bars and pubs,..... among other things and Sloppy Joes is one of the best. They have live music daily and live cams for friends at home to watch you enjoy the good life!! Their menu offers so many great choices and we found their "Sloppy Jo" to be one of the best. When it comes to drinks, they don't cut corners with the shot glass. We loved their Bloody Mary's and they offer many specialty drinks. Prices were reasonable. This is a very busy place so come early for the best seats. Don't forget to get a T-shirt from their retail shop.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    895
    872
    358
    98
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best pizza on the island and peel and eat shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Went here twice this visit. The peel and eat shrimp can't be beat. Plus they have the best pizza on the island if you're having a craving. Close to what we get in Chicago. A must stop for any Key West visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
“Good live music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stopped by this bar a couple times. There was a live band playing a cool mix of popular songs, even rap. Very energetic and interesting for a live band. The drink prices were reasonable and the crowd was just right. I will definitely stop by on my next night in Key West!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A good place for the first time visitor.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We didn't have the food. If you are a first time vistor you need to go. Great entertainment during the day and nightly.



Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A "must do" in Key West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

To say that this place makes its money on tourists is not revelatory. But they are doing a brisk business selling shirts, etc., with the Sloppy Joe logo. Still, I had to check the place out because of it's legendary status.

We had a couple of beers and burgers. It was not too expensive. $21 for 4 beers. The burgers were about $9 and were excellent. But they didn't come with fries. It doesn't say they come with fries on the menu, but I just assumed it would. Be aware of that. The burger was plenty of food, though, so you don't really need fries.

Our server was perfect. She was there when we needed her and left us alone to enjoy ourselves. The only thing I'd warn about is pricing. And this applies to all of Key West. Be sure to ask the prices up front. Sometimes the price might cause you to change your mind.

We got to see live music from a band of kids who I named the "runaways." One of those kids tried to play the "satch boogie" and didn't do too bad. If you know the tune, you how hard it would be to play.

The place is loud and boisterous and has an "anything goes" type of atmosphere (Key West in general does). It can be a lot of fun. I'd go back if the opportunity arose.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sloppy Joe's also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sloppy Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sloppy Joe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.