We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pork sandwich is so good.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Siboney Restaurant

El Siboney Restaurant
900 Catherine St, Key West, FL 33040
(305) 296-4184
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 337 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The pork sandwich is so good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this place was recommended by a local and it did not disappoint. Authentic local food, fast, friendly service, tucked away in a residential section of Key West...worth the walk. Wow, great lunch. Did I mention the prices were so low?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,329
    628
    172
    63
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, great service, great prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I stopped here for lunch this past Friday after hearing from too many locals that we were missing out on this gem of an eatery. We arrived around noon, parked right out front (there was plenty of parking, but the stalls are designed for compact cars, FYI). The restaurant wasn't busy at all and we were seated immediately, our server bringing water and hot buttery Cuban bread. I ordered the fried pork chunks, and asked for just beans (no rice) since I do try to avoid carbs despite the temptation of the free bread! Our server asked if I wanted a salad instead, which surprised me, since most restaurants won't sub a salad for rice without charging extra. Husband ordered the Cuban mix, as he is on the hunt for the best Cuban mix in Key West. Our food arrived almost immediately, too fast for me to eat my salad. The large pork chunks were fried crisp on all sides, served with a thinly sliced pickled onion and lime wedges. This is simple food, everyone. Simple and so good! Husband's only complaint about the Cuban mix was that it was so thick with meat it wasn't quite warm all the way through. He says Sandy's Cafe still has the best Cuban mix, but it was great nonetheless. We Love a good hot sauce and even bought a bottle of their Cajun sauce to take home along with a bunch of our food, since their portions are pretty large. All told, both meals and 2 sodas cost less than $25...cheapest lunch we have had in Key West!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wanted a real cuban, got it here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We asked the young lady at our hotel (a local) for the best place to get a cuban sandwich and she sent us here. It was worth the walk. This is definitely a local's hangout with good food and fast service. Cuban bread to start and two fantastic sandwiches to placate our hunger. Will remember this when we return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“great cuban food in key west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had been told this was a great place to go, a little off the beaten track frequented by locals more than tourists although it was about 8 blocks from our b and b.

A neighborhood restaurant, fast service good food. I had the steak palomilla with platanos and black beans and rice, wife had snapper. Key lime pie for dessert. About 35 dollars for everything. A real fine corner of catherine and margaret street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Local Favorite with Great Food and Great Prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

El Siboney is where to go for a real meal when you tire of the overpriced burgers on Duval. I had the $8.95 pepper stead special and it was delicious. The steak was cut-with-your-fork tender and perfectly seasoned. Meals also come with Cuban butter-drenched bread, a heap of yellow rice, and a bowl of black beans guaranteed to fill you up. We also ordered the pitcher of Sangria and it was the best we've ever had.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Siboney Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to El Siboney Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Siboney Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.