We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish food in the keys!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finnegan's Wake Irish Pub

Finnegan's Wake Irish Pub
320 Grinnell St, Key West, FL 33040
(305) 293-0222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Irish food in the keys!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Irish food here is fantastic! The sheppards pie I highly recommend. The wait staff was friendly also. Great authentic Irish pub.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    172
    100
    24
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best food we had in a week at Key West!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

By far the best we had all week- not counting any seafood places (I'm allergic so we didn't eat at any.). We got their early dinner - pre-sunset- and as we waited for our specialty beers, we were charmed by the locals in the bar area who were not charmingly drunk, rowdy, and thankfully, on their way out! Whew. Our waitress was attentive and old us that "everything was good," which is usually code for " I don't eat here," but boy was she right!! Husband had the meatloaf, and he said it was the best he'd ever had( dang it- I need a me recipe!!). I had a stacked burger- don't remember the men name, but it was cooked perfectly, had huge fixins on it, and I had to fight hubby for the fries, after he already had his mashed potatoes with his good! Needless to say, it was great. He also ordered the bread pudding - the dessert by which he judges all restaurants- and he pronounced it in his "top 3 of all time" - at least that is what I think I heard as he shoveled it all in! Ha. I waited and went to the Key Lime Company to get the frozen key lime pie dipped in chocolate on a stick. Do this instead if you don't love bread pudding - you'll thank me later!

It's a must-go place, out of the way- way off Duvall, locals raved about it, and we all know you are sick of seafood after a while in the islands, so a stop at The Wake will make your trip complete!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went between lunch and dinner. The bar/dining room was not crowded. However, after waiting 17 minutes for someone to take a drink order after menus were dropped off, we went to the bar and ordered our drinks and food ourselves. Another waitress saw us there and apologized and took care of us. Her counterpart though- wow.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainbow City, AL
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“4th July Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stopped in for supper our last night in Key West. Food great, good beer selection. The Calcannonballs are delicious, a potato croquette with cheese sauce for dipping; the Ruben egg rolls also good. Entrees we had were Mac and Cheese, best I have ever ate; fish and chops were good and Sheppard Pie. All delivered by a sociable wait staff at a good price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronkonkoma, New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Irish Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were only able to stop here for a few pints one day, but that being said, the Murphy's was poured to perfection and the atmosphere here was authentic. We had some light bar fare snacks which were good as was the service. Chatted with the owner for a bit who was a good host. Would certainley go back and maybe have a full meal next time and hopefully catch some of the live music. By the way, they also had HofBrau beer here so you get the best of both German and Irish beers, what could be better?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finnegan's Wake Irish Pub also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Finnegan's Wake Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finnegan's Wake Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.