We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great View and Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Kraals

Turtle Kraals
231 Margaret St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-2640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #126 of 341 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Family Fare, Cuban, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Quick Bites, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Key West Seafood and Sunset Restaurant, along the Waterfront. With Turtle Races every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 7pm, the only cevicheria in Key West and a Cuban/Caribbean/Family-inspired menu with many items to share, Turtle Kraals exudes Key West charm. Enjoy the indoor 360-degree bar or catch a spectacular sunset from our infamous Tower Bar, overlooking Historic Key West Bight. In the mood for a fun activity? Try your hand at our complimentary bocce courts.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Great View and Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Once September kicked off, my husband and I jumped at the opportunity to check out the generous Local's Special at Turtle Kraals (which we visit often anyhow)

Historically a smoke and BBQ joint, TK’s recently updated and upgraded their entire menu to match an authentic Cuban-Caribbean theme, in addition to adding a fantastically fresh Cevicheria bar to the mix.

First off, if you have the chance to visit this harbor side restaurant – the “Tower Bar” upstairs is a must! We often bring our visitors to this spot – a perfect place to sit, relax, and overlook the water and the boats at the marina, our server even brought us a pair of binoculars for our viewing pleasure.
For the second part of the lunch, we chose the Fresh Catch Sandwich – (All of TK’s seafood comes fresh from our waters and the Half Shell Seafood Market right across the street). We chose the Grouper and had it grilled, didn’t even need the bread, the fish was prepared to perfection and served with ripe tomato and creamy avocado, and french fries. You can also have the choice of panko fried or blackened.

Now my favorite part, the Cuban Mix! This sandwich included house cured and smoked ham, slow roasted mojo (super juicy!) pork, with swiss and mustard pressed on Cuban bread. This awesome sandwich had homemade zucchini pickles – which put this menu choice over the top for me.

Their menu is great for a group of friends looking to enjoy the view, have a drink or two, while testing your taste buds with some great munchies from the eclectic Caribbean inspired menu – there is truly something for everyone from the .50 cent oysters to the Chorizo and Goat Cheese Empanadas, to their Key Lime Pie.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    218
    93
    46
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
so.fl.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Come for Happy Hour & the Turtle races”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

One of the many good bar&restaurants in Key West. Great deals on fresh raw oysters, buckets of bones and the many specials available during their happy hour from 4:30-6:30 daily.. Monday & Fridays they have turtle races, really a lot of fun to participate in and it costs you nothing. Every time we visit key west, this is our first stop for food & drinks. Make sure to try it!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent end to our day in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We came in just for a short drink while my son went para-sailing after our cruise on the Appledore Schooner.
The one piece of advice I would give is to get parked early. Parking was not a problem for us as we had put the car in the public lot in the morning and left it there. But it probably makes sense to get there early to park
We sat out on the porch overlooking the marina and the weather was perfect. The girls started with the crabs and cocktails first and after the first round things just started to get very comfortable. The kids loved the turtle race and we needed a little bit of a rest after our time on the Appledore Schooner so our short drink turned into a nice dinner.
I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice evening on a holiday get away.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a Deal with Great Service and a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just got back from Key West! We have been there many times and got married there eight years ago. So when we found that the Turtle Kraals has a top patio bar with a view of the entire harbor and a happy hour that serves 1/2 price drinks and food, we were happy. But, what we found was even better! Nicholas (Nick) our bartender was just the best. He was friendly, attentive, interesting since he's lived in KW for 23 years, and can tell you all types of good places to go, especially where the locals go.....We came back two times just because of HIM! The happy hour food is not to be missed either. The bones (ribs) for $5.95 and the wings ($5.95) where some of the best, I have EVER had. The chips and home-made guamole was really great too at $5! Then you have this great view and a bartender that makes you feel like you are his only priority!

We live in Miami so we are use to going to restaurants and not getting service and attention! Five stars to the Turtle Kraals and Nike! Margaret M. - Miami

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“average food, dishonest staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Food was ok, nothing to write home about. Our credit card was charged more than we wrote on the receipt and we had to address that, nice try. Server seemed like he didn't want to be there anyway. Bar was much better experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Turtle Kraals also viewed

 

Been to Turtle Kraals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Kraals, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.