We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roof Top Cafe

Roof Top Cafe
308 Front St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-2042
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $7 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Winner - 2014 Master Chef Classic Competition - Best Entrée - Seared Sea Scallops.Roof Top Cafe's Executive Chef Brendan Orr has a style all his own. His rich, culinary history has brought him to Key West, via Miami and Paris, France. His culinary journey has taught him the incredible ability to balance flavors from around the world.Chef Orr delights in bringing you his “New-Island” Cuisine; combining contemporary flavors of the tropics, spices from the far east and staples from the Mediterranean. Chef Orr has mastered the ability to match these tantalizing flavors with the absolute freshest produce, meats and seafood available.The result is nothing less than spectacular, and has brought him three, consecutive years' awards at the Marc House’s Master Chefs Classic, among other honors.Visit Roof Top Café in historic Key West and discover the fresh flavors of Chef Brendan Orr's New-Island Cusine.
Marshfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a lovely dinner on the outside balcony, sitting in the tree tops looking down on the people passing by. Great service and delicious food -at least for three of us. One of our party ordered the sea bass and was unhappy with it. Our server was absolutely fabulous, apologized, and took it off the bill. The rest of us loved every bite of our dinners and we had plenty to share. delicious key lime pie to wrap it all up. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    506
    202
    70
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“First place we go every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We have been eating at this restaurant for 7-8 years now and its the first place we go for dinner every time we get into KW. We are in KW a couple times a year and we eat here at least 2-3 times each stay. The lobster gnocchi is amazing- think about it all the time! We also love the diver scallops, shortribs, sea bass, and snapper. We will order a couple apps and a couple entrees and share everything around the table; too many delicious choices to taste only one! We have been with both large and small groups and the service and food quality are always on point. Our kids even love eating here (the snapper and mashed potatoes with shrimp gravy is their fav). Not much difference in price than you would pay for a plate of greasy fried "seafood" at any tourist trap. We are usually here for almost 2 hours each meal; after all, KW is on it's own time! But just enjoy good drinks and apps and make it a relaxing time. Great atmosphere (sit outside when you can) and yummy food! Love this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We were both of the opinion the meals were freshly made. Very flavoursome meals and one of the best since coming to Key West. Both our meals were excellent. Took slightly long to be served but given the quality worth the wait. Will visit again.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Shrimp Quesadilla and Fish Tacos - both were excellent! The service was great and we even splurged at lunch and went for the key lime pie - awesome. Heard the dinner selection was even better - will definitely go again next time in KW!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place had a wonderful atmosphere and the food was so good. We had Key West Conch Chowder, the Gnocchi with lobster, scallops and mussels. The final finish was with Key Lime Pie. The food was great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roof Top Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Roof Top Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roof Top Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.