We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia by Duval

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivia by Duval
511 Olivia Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Port Neches, Texas, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for five days this past week and totally enjoyed the experience. Far enough off Duval to not hear the traffic or noise but close enough to walk to anything I wanted to. First time for the clothing-optional experience and never felt uncomfortable. All the folks I met around the pool were very easy to talk with and nice.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Captain's Back Qtrs and the room had everything I needed and then some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Very pleased your stay was nice and relaxing and your experience with clothing optional was a good one. Our property is relatively new at "clothing optional". Our guests seem to enjoy the option, whether they chose to use it or wear traditional swimming attire! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    42
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
13
110
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We enjoyed the kays Cottage BUT The floors were so dirty that we had to wash our feet anytime we walked on them with out shoes..The bed was hard. The water pressure was slow. The Pool was two blocks away. Besides that i enjoyed the location and the people were nice

Room Tip: room were quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We wish you had let the office know immediately that the floor was not to your satisfaction. We could have fixed it immediately. The bed will be checked today. A memory top could have perhaps made it more comfortable for you. We try to ensure everyone knows the pool is a couple minute away and apologize that it was a surprise to you. We take your advice to heart and strive to do better. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our much needed vacation was truly awesome beginning with Kay helping with our reservation. Our check-in went without a glitch. DJ greeted us with an Ice Cold beer and was able to check us in early so we could get our vacation started. DJ gave us advice on the best places to eat and drink with plenty of buy one get one coupons. Be sure to visit a great breakfast spot recommended by DJ on Petrone St.

Thanks
The Goodwin's and The Morgans

Can't wait to return

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Yes, we do offer a "complimentary" beer at check in and will gladly share our favorite places. We encourage guests to let us know if anything is not right as soon as possible and be interactive with the office for their needs. We are glad we could help make your Key West Vacation a great one. Makes our day to hear it! Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Such a quaint beautiful bed and breakfast! So friendly and welcoming. Located a bit farther down Duval but still a great location where we just walked (or scooted) to everywhere we needed to go! Clothing optional pool we were unaware of but not even an issue. Watch our video experience in key west here http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=O8svK8426T8

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We are a guesthouse and recommend many fun and delicious locations for breakfast and are conveniently located steps off Duval between the Atlantic Ocean and Gulf of Mexico. It pleases our staff that you enjoyed our humble "abode". It is not for those who like large hotel amenities, like a bar, room service, etc. But many places deliver and we are surrounded by restaurants and bars.... Thanks for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Second time here & we love it. Highly recommend ! Perfect location ! In d town but away from the hustle & bustle. We stayed in second floor 2 bedroom balcony room. Just perfect ! Within walking distance to both ends of duval with plenty of restaurants nearby .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Sincerely hope you visit us a third time. Return guests are very much appreciated. Let us know you have stayed with us before! Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed in the Bimini apartment. It was a great place for us, because we are not bathing suit optional people. It was far enough away from the pool area that we did not have to worry about it. We did "check" the pool out, and it was very clean and well maintained, so if that's your thing, it's a great area. Our apartment was a block from Duval. It was very clean and spacious, plenty of room for two couples traveling together, and very affordable. D.J. Was an awesome guide to everything to do. We hit every spot he suggested, and were satisfied everywhere we went. Awesome time, thanks for the great stay!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Yes, we have some accommodations not at the pool area, should you have enough "pool" at home. Each unit and property is unique and we will take time to go over what's available with you. After all you want to be happy with your accommodations when going on that long awaited vaction. Thanks for writing about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

First time there and in our opinion the best clothing optional we've stayed at yet. Super friendly couples at the pool - just regular folks who want to sunbathe and chat - very comfortable for this "non-swinger" 50+ couple. Loved our week there! Next time we will rent the poolside room, which makes running to the bathroom much more convenient. Wow, now I really sound old. :-)

Room Tip: I would book in the house adjoining the pool - poolside, upstairs, or front of house. All the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Our guests find the "clothing optional" aspect of their stay to be a very relaxing experience, with some guests in regular swimsuit attire. Sort of a "no big deal" either way. Just nice people here for a peaceful, fun get a way from the frenzy of every day work and life. Visit us soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olivia by Duval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia by Duval

Address: 511 Olivia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable guest house features unique Key West style rooms, each with their own personality. The location is near attractions and Duval Street, the pool is clothing optional and the rooms all have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and complimentary wifi. Come stay with a staff that is here only to cater to you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia By Duval Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia by Duval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Olivia by Duval to your Saves list