We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our great stay at Olivia by Duval” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olivia by Duval

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olivia by Duval
Save
You added Olivia by Duval to your Saves list
511 Olivia Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Kimberling City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our great stay at Olivia by Duval”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I have been to Key West many times and this year by searching Tripadvisor we found out about this great place "Olivia by Duval". DJ, David and Guy work very hard to make your stay with them the most enjoyable vacation you have ever had. They are up to date on everything that is happening in Key West and can make you reservations for all the attractions and restaurants as well. DJ can tell you about other out of the way places in the Keys that are exciting to visit also so do not forget to talk to him. While laying around the pool you meet people that have be coming to Oliva by Duval for many years and some of them have become great friends. My wife and I will be staying there again on our next visit to Key West.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Our staff is friendly and helpful to those wanting to know "those out of the way places", and lets those who want to discover on their own.....do just that. Our office is open 9 a.m. to 6 p.m., so if you are tired when check in, you can stop back by and ask more questions. Our return guests are many and they seem to become friends over the years of staying with us. Thank you for returning year after year....and making the new guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    42
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
13
116
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kings Mills, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and I spent Fantasy Fest week staying in the Front Porch room. It's actually 2 rooms with a bed in both. The bathroom is tiny, but clean. The pool area is nice and clothing optional. And I should mention the price is lower than what you would expect just a few feet from Duval Street. Guy and Dave were so nice (I hope I got your names right) they made us feel really welcome. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Fantasy Fest is a special time to be in Key West. It is amazing how the staff''s energy can help make your stay memorable and we appreciate your comments indicating they are "doing all they can do" to be helpful without being "hovering." Hope you visit Key West again soon. It is a new city each week, each month, depending what is going on!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for eight days in October. The place was great. We met David at check in and he was very helpful with suggestions and things to do. David also took the time to take us on a tour of the rooms that no one was occupying. We stayed in the Cat room and loved it. The staff is consistently cleaning. The day b4 we left DJ did a major cleaning on the pool. DJ also booked us in Feb and gave us an awesome rate. I will be booking again soon for June or October.. Again we loved this place and cant wait to return

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are KW 5th timers and 1st timers for Olivia by Duval. Chosen simply for the c/o pool, quite honestly as its a requirement for me on vacation. We had two nights in the Poolside room -- king size bed with another twin trundle, small kitchen, shower and great a/c. Clean, comfy and loved it! Only negative was the shower temperature handle is wacky and I never got hot water. I know it was there b/c there was plenty in the sink -- just couldn't set it right for me. The next 5 ngihts were in the Poolside Balcony --- again comfy and good size. Needed to call for the floor to be cleaned, but it was addressed immediately --- as all our requests were -- like for more coffee, extra linens, everything. DJ and his crew -- Frank & Guy are top of the line. The pool is heated and super clean. Location is quiet!!!! the other places we have stayed its loud -- dump trucks and traffic. Superb place! We already rebooked! WELL DONE ObD!!!!! TW & Dougie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We are so thankful for those who love Key West and love staying with us. Your enjoyment "makes our day". We always try to respond immediately to anything out of place in your stay and keep your surrounding clean and comfortable. Your input is very helpful to our team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

DJ gave us a great rate so we were able to come in October, have always had to go to Key west, May, June, July < Aug, Sept when it SO hot. This was the best wether weekend we ever had in Key west, loved it, rode our bikes all over (most people too though, not everyone can hack the summer) . We loved Olivia by Duvall, Guy became my new friend at check-in and we have stayed at 9 other hotels in Key West, expensive to less..This place if the best for the location etc..cute and quaint, we will be back.. We have stayed at Curry Mansion, Doublas House, Pilot House, Double tree, Crown Plaza, Casa Maria, Southern Most point, Quality Inn, this is a good location and great price both a must.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
As you mentioned in your review, Olivia by Duval offers affordability and great central location near DuvalStreet. Key West offers biking, scooters, walking, running, beaches, snorkling, diving and fishing. If you feel like getting away at the spur of the moment, just give us a call. Love to have you come to Key West for fun and sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am a yearly visitor to Key West who decided to try Olivia by Duval...turned out to be the best decision ever. We stayed in the Conch Room. Queen bed and a twin with a little kitchen and adequate bathroom. Spotless clean and really comfortable beds. Guy was our main staff member and he really made our visit. He was accomodating in so many ways that when we left, we had to get a picture with him. Ice, towels, a place to store our luggage, brining by our groceries that were delivered to the office, friendly advice when asked, and genuinely interested in how our visit was going at all times. The pool while small at first glance offered a nice chance to mingle occasionally with other guests, all of whom were repeats and friendly quiet people just sunbathing. It was close to everything, and I will make it the only hotel I go to each year going forward. Guy was nice enough to take us around to view other rooms when we expressed curiostiy, and though each was unique and quaint, they were all decorated in true Key West style and all equally as clean and pleasant as our own room had been. I highly recommend this place and if you get lucky enough to get Guy as your staff, have a chat with him and you'll fall in love just like we did.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Our small staff works very hard to accommodate each guests needs. Thank you for taking time to let us know that we were successful. This service leads to many repeat guests that enjoy relaxing and visiting on the deck. Meeting nice people is an additional perk to being on the wonderful island of Key West..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had the chance to take a trip down for a nite and checked this place and found a good deal. I too stayed in the loft and banged my head a couple times. Overall it was a pretty nice place and was treated very well. I plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliviabyDuval, Manager at Olivia by Duval, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We hope you will come back soon and try some of the other units. Every unit is unique, some smaller and some larger with full kitchens. They are all located steps to Duval Street. So let us know what amenities you are looking for. Glad you had a good time with us and found the staff helpful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olivia by Duval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia by Duval

Address: 511 Olivia Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This affordable guest house features unique Key West style rooms, each with their own personality. The location is near attractions and Duval Street, the pool is clothing optional and the rooms all have a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, and complimentary wifi. Come stay with a staff that is here only to cater to you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olivia By Duval Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olivia by Duval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.