We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizzas and view of Duval” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar

Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar
915 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-7407
+1 305-296-0669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $5 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Olivia
Transit: Located on the south corner of the block
Description: nine one five bistro and wine bar is located in a magnificent Victorian house: circa 1850. Since opening in 2002 we have received national & international acclaim with 2 James Beard Foundation invitations. The food is simple fare prepared properly - no fuss just great food with an international wine list to back it up. We look forward to seeing you.
Cary, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Pizzas and view of Duval”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I wanted a quick bite and a drink, and this place was perfect. We went upstairs to the bar / porch area which was great for people watching, listening to music, and sharing the very good flatbread, and mezze appetizers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    16
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lynchburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nine One Five was recommended by a local, Jimmy who does bicycle tours out of Easton St. Bikes. We wanted a light bite one evening and Point 5 was just around the corner. We walked up the stairs in to the bar area. There was a large wooden bar in the main room, and we could see tables on the deck outside. The bartender/owner said to find a table where we liked, so we went on outside. YIKES! The deck felt sort of scary. tilted down toward the street, but it seemed sturdy enough. We chose a table and sat. In a few minutes the bartender came out and gave us menus. There were two featured drinks that included "home made" ingredients. Home made tonic water in the Gin and Tonic and home made ginger beer in the Moscow Mule. My husband ordered the gin and tonic, I the Moscow mule. Husband wasn't very hungry so I chose the Mezze plate, passing over the tasty looking pizzas on the menu. Our drinks were served.
The gin and tonic was rosy in color - a special Rose gin was the other ingredient. The drink had a tasty and unique flavor. My mule was good, but nothing to write home about. The mezze plate. Hmmm. The stuffed grape leaves were a fail. The rice stuffing was quite hard, not under cooked hard, but stored in the refrigerator too long hard. The other items were good.

It was nice to watch people walking by, and the Nine One Five diners on the patio below us. A gal had ordered the whole fish special, she was a bit taken aback at first, but soon dug in and seemed to enjoy it.

Our service was aggravatingly slow. The owner seemed to be the only person waiting on the tables and a couple other locals were inside at the bar chatting with him. Apparently, shooting the breeze with locals takes precedence over customers.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stopped in and were very surpised by the great food. My bf had shrimp and said it was amazing. I had the goat cheese tart and it was delicious. Reasonably priced, too. Very good!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for late dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Went for a late dinner. The flatbread pizzas were really good. Nice to sit upstairs on the front deck and watch Duvall Street.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best in Key West.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012 via mobile

The food was delicious. The service was exceptionally wonderful. Awesome atmosphere. Everyone needs to go at least once if not more. Try the bacon wrapped dates, they are to die for. Kudos to an establishment on Duval that does not make you feel like just another tourist.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point 5 Tapas & Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.