We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan Dinner in Key West, Florida” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place

The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place
509 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-296-5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 338 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Takeout
Houston
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Vegan Dinner in Key West, Florida”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I dined at The Cafe several times during our visit to Key West. We enjoy the vegan unwings (fried tofu in sauce), the veggie burger (giant falafel type burger), burger bits (same like the burger, but smaller and much tastier without the burger bun), and the peppersteak made with vegan daiya cheese. All of the food was delicious and the atmosphere was nice and a little artsy. On our first visit which was a busy Friday night, the food came within 15 minutes. On our second visit, the following Saturday, it took an hour for the food to arrive. So, don't show up starving, it may require patience. ;-)

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    557
    173
    33
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wash dc
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Healthy food alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The warm beet salad with gorganzola was a symphony of flavors. There were options for diverse dietary preferences and many healthy alternatives. Service was quick and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Best meal in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We made the mistake if visitng on our last day :( .....We should have gone earlier as I am not sure we would have eaten any where else. I had a great veggie burger with sweet potato fries, my boyfriend has a fish dish. Both fantastic!!!!

The menu was varied and had something for everyone.

Cannot recommend it enough. Don't make the same mistake as us, go there early in your trip to avoid the disapointment of not being able to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“x 2 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Want a wonderful taste sensation - Come to The Cafe! Its vegetarian and seafood (only) menu is Outstanding! So much so, we returned for dinner two consecutive nights. The ambiance is simple: Two joined dark rooms with basic wooden chairs/tables and a wall of windows along the front facing Southard. The very good local artwork adorning the walls (and for sale) adds a nice and interesting vibe. Our service was inconsistent (fantastic one evening then medicore another) but every food selection was incredibly delectable. Particular highlights were the gorgonzola & fig pizza, shrimp fajita quesadilla and "special" artichoke dip. My tablemate also recommended the udon bowl. Will definitely plan a stop at The Cafe on the next visit to Key West.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place has awesome food, even a non-vegetarian can enjoy. Reasonable prices too. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.