We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy food alternative” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place

The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place
509 Southard St, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-296-5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Cuisines: Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
wash dc
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Healthy food alternative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The warm beet salad with gorganzola was a symphony of flavors. There were options for diverse dietary preferences and many healthy alternatives. Service was quick and friendly.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    156
    31
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Best meal in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We made the mistake if visitng on our last day :( .....We should have gone earlier as I am not sure we would have eaten any where else. I had a great veggie burger with sweet potato fries, my boyfriend has a fish dish. Both fantastic!!!!

The menu was varied and had something for everyone.

Cannot recommend it enough. Don't make the same mistake as us, go there early in your trip to avoid the disapointment of not being able to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“x 2 !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Want a wonderful taste sensation - Come to The Cafe! Its vegetarian and seafood (only) menu is Outstanding! So much so, we returned for dinner two consecutive nights. The ambiance is simple: Two joined dark rooms with basic wooden chairs/tables and a wall of windows along the front facing Southard. The very good local artwork adorning the walls (and for sale) adds a nice and interesting vibe. Our service was inconsistent (fantastic one evening then medicore another) but every food selection was incredibly delectable. Particular highlights were the gorgonzola & fig pizza, shrimp fajita quesadilla and "special" artichoke dip. My tablemate also recommended the udon bowl. Will definitely plan a stop at The Cafe on the next visit to Key West.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This place has awesome food, even a non-vegetarian can enjoy. Reasonable prices too. Highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Thank Goodness For This Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Absolutely loved the veggie burger. I was staying in Key West nearly a month and found this to be my favorite veggie place. The ingredients taste fresh and the food was creative but not heavy. Atmosphere was casual the service was okay.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cafe, A Mostly Vegetarian Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.