We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the BEST” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Fish

Seven Fish
632 Olivia St, Key West, FL 33040-7427
+1 305-296-2777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 365 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A fish-style bistro.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The crab cake appetizer is wonderful and I've never had a seafood dish I didn't love! Year after year ... dinner only, 6-10PM ... they gotta be doing something right! Actually everything! Great staff!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    773
    224
    70
    41
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not the ambiance I hoped for.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Seven Fish was recommended by the staff at the Inn, so we chose it for a celebration dinner. Upon arrival, the place, rather sparse and ordinary in appearance, was crowded with diners, many rather loud and adding to our distraction. The food was good, we both had fish from the daily catch, and, except for one obnoxiously arrogant diner at the next table, inspecting his entree with a flashlight to complain, the overall experience was about what we'd expect in Key West.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Falls, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A tiny and delightful corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a dellghtful time and a delicious meal at Seven Fish, a small and very crowded restaurant on a corner off the beaten track in Key West. Getting a reservation there is no easy task, but it's worth the trouble. Unsurprisingly, the specials are built around the local and fresh catches of the day: grouper, mahi, snapper. My wife had the grouper, and I had the snapper (the couple next to us had all three specials, and finished their plates!) Ours were as good as we tasted during our four nights in the area. For dessert, we shared a key lime cheesecake, which was okay but not spectacular, hence our "only" four-star rating. Otherwise, this place is highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Favorite restaurant in KW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

The food was delicious and wonderfully prepared. We both had 2 of the fish specials and the fish taco appetizer; all were amazing. The servers there are very friendly and easy going, and take time to explain menu items. This is a very small place, rather crowded in a way, so be prepared. Recommend making a reservation. People on all sides of us were extremely happy with their meals. The place is neat and tidy. It's rather pricey but worth it for the quality and quantity. Definitely the best meal we've had in KW and we've been to many restaurants. Highly recommend!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
biddeford, maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We found out about Seven Fish from a frequent visitor to Key West who recommended getting off the beaten path of Duval Street. Well worth the short bike ride to Seven Fish, corner of Olivia and Elizabeth. The bartender Fred made our visit even better, being conversational and helpful about other places to visit. Our fish was fresh and simply prepared, no fussiness. The place is pretty small but intimate and lively. Some might say noisy but not in a bad way. Reservations are recommended but we lucked out and sat at the bar immediately, but even that is small (4 seats). This kind of place is right up my alley and we would definitely go back if in Key West again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Fish also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Seven Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.