We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe's Cafe

Pepe's Cafe
806 Caroline St, Key West, FL 33040-6643
305- 294-7192
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 361 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $0 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Don't let the exterior deter you. Food and service were good. A varied menu, but not a lot of seafood. Offers steaks, pork, fish, and lobster. Good choice of vegetables for sides. We had fish, Pepe's Style, but it was a little bland for our taste (was expecting more spice). Very causal atmosphere. The manager/host made a point of speaking to everyone as they came in and left.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    679
    346
    99
    65
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Like other reviewers say, this place doesn't look like it's worth going to...but you need to try it! I got a fish sandwich and it was so good. Great drinks, great food... sitting on the patio was a wonderful Key West experience. Would defintely recommend to others!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best spanish food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

not the nicest looking place, but the food is amazing,,, i love that at the bar, we ate with 2 dogs,, and i shared my shrimp, with a homeless/guest cat called billybob...GET THE BLACK BEAN SOUP

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“funky but good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place is a little out of the way, but the food was good (had blackened hog fish) and there's lots of history.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“breakfast!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We usually have lunch at Pepes. This visit we had breakfast, I ordered the short stack of pancakes and could not finish them, but I really wanted to save room for key lime pie. I have had key lime pie in many places in key west, but Pepes has the best! I spoke to Shelly about how she makes it. A bit different! But thats why it tastes so good. Service was excellent as always. We will be back! Love that pie!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe's Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Pepe's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.