We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mangoes

Mangoes
700 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-7404
+1 305-292-4606
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Continental, Contemporary, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Love the outdoor seating, a little pricy but everything tasted great.
Drinks were strong and the seafood was freash.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    342
    193
    90
    38
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My family and I went to Mangoes on one of the "coldest" nights in Key West since 1978 on March 26, 2013. Since it was in the 50's we ended up eating inside. Right away, we were happily greeted by Dan. Dan made the night so enjoyable, he was extremely personable, knowledgable about the menu and joked around with my family. I always say when you have an amazing server it greatly improves your dining experience.

I am very much a foodie and heard that Mangoes had great dishes and it was very true! Dan told us he made the sangria and it was the best, well he wasn't lying, we got a pitcher and devoured it!!! Dan, you really do make the best sangria!!! My father and I started with the conch spring rolls, which were delicious, they were filled with tender conch and the hints of spice and mangoes was a great compliment to the conch. My brother is a fan of wedge salads, so he started with Mangoes wedge salad and he said it was the best wedge salad he has ever had. I split my meal (the pork chop) with my mom which was plenty for the both of us, the cuban coffee crust was amazing and one of the best pork chops I have had. My father got the special snapper w/ a wine and caper sauce and he said the fish was moist and delicious. My brother got the lemon herb chicken which he said was delicious also, it was so large he couldn't even finish it. The manager made her way over to our table to ask how everything was going and of course we were beyond pleased with Dan and our meals, she even surprised us at the end with a key lime pie to share because she wanted to make sure we didn't leave Key West without eating "the best key lime pie" on the island!! And, it was very good!!

Overall, if I return to Key West I will definitely be coming back to Mangoes and I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone! Don't forget to ask for Dan!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A decent place for lunch right on Duval”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We missed the ferry to Sunset Key to eat at Latitudes and thus wandered down Duval to find a suitable place for lunch that wasn't noisy but offered great people-watching and some shade. We walked several blocks before spotting Mangoe's outdoor seating under large trees. The gazpacho was tasty and conch/squid ceviche was more than the two of us could eat. My mango chopped salad with chopped shrimp was freshly prepared and my husband gave a thumbs up on his snapper sandwich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Saw this place while we were walking Duval Street and what got my wife's attention was the number of tables outside. As others have said it's great for people watching.

The entree selections run the gamut from vegetarian to seafood. No matter what your preference is you should be able to find something to your liking. Drinks were good and not lacking of the spirits.

I had the Yellowtail Snapper and was completely satisfied with the portion I received...the pineapple salsa made the dish for me. My wife opted for the Baby Iceberg Salad and was not able to finish it...it was that big.

We were completely satisfied with the service we received...from the hostess to the waiter. The prices are comparable to other restaurants on Duval.

I'd recommend Mangoes for a nice lunch or dinner. A plus is that there is not loud music blaring where you can't carry-on a conversation. Worth a stop on your visit to Key West.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The appetizers looked so yummy that we just ordered all apps for dinner. Highly recommend the panko crusted tuna and the gazpacho.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangoes also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Mangoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangoes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.