We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a HUGE let down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels Restaurant

Michaels Restaurant
532 Margaret St, Key West, FL 33040-7134
305 295-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michaels Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Southard Street
Description: One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals and visitors with discriminating dining palates. If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West, near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street. "From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "
Miami, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a HUGE let down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

So we had read some great reviews about Michaels online and decided to have my birthday dinner there. They are a bit upscale for Key West but since it had such great reviews we wanted to try it. We called for a reservation for 6 and they said they were so packed we would not get a table before 9:30pm. We are fairly early eaters so this was a let down but we made the reservations. We took a cab there since it was not in walking distance from our hotel and upon our arrival at 9:30 they said our table was not yet ready. We were naturally upset since we had to wait so late for a reservation, the bar was full so we could not even get a drink while we waited and we could see plenty of empty tables so we where confused as to why we were not being seated. 15 minutes later they sat us and our waiter right off the bat was a jerk, he did not give us any of the specials did not give a recommendation just came over and said "what do u want" We ordered over $500 worth of food and drinks with our large party and over an hour later had not seen a single bit of food other than the bread that they put on the table and never re-filled. Our waiter was also absent for about 1 hour and so we asked another waiter to go get him, when our waiter came back he said "oh sorry for the wait theres a wedding in the back and its just taking a while for the food" We had waited long enough it was 11 at night and we had no dinner or service, we asked him for the bill for our drinks to which his manager said to just comp them. I will NEVER go back here and discourage anyone interested to do the same.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelanieW224, Owner at Michaels Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Erika,
Michael & I are so sorry that your experience was so disappointing. We really strive to make each diner's experience outstanding. We rem very concerned about the experience that you had and would love to extend to you an invitation to revisit Michaels and let us show you how it is supposed to be. Please contact us at michaels@michaelskeywest.com so we can remedy this situation.
Thanks for the opportunity to rectify this situation and hopefully prevent it in the future.
Melanie & Michael Wilson
Owners
Michaels Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    170
    53
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Don't Miss!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our first experience at this restaurant and we were so impressed! Our food was outstanding-mahi-mahi with a plantain crust and a rum pineapple topping and a filet. Both were excellent-cooked perfectly and some of the best we have had. We also had a key lime martini-highly recommend. Our service was fantastic- the waiter was friendly and our water glass never went low. The entire staff was very attentive. On top of excellent food and service, the restaurant provides a great atmosphere. When you make your reservation, ask to sit out on the patio. We sat near the fountain which was decorated with vases of orchids. This is an outstanding restaurant-don't miss it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
295 reviews 295 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
511 helpful votes 511 helpful votes
“Offhand front of house but reasonable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our first dinner in KW was at Michael's on the recommendation of staff at Azul Key West. We were told that reservations were essential even at the comparatively early hour of 7 pm. Initial impressions weren't good as both the woman on front of house duty and the owner himself were offhand and left us waiting until a phone was answered and menus stacked. After some minutes, we did get seated and the experience improved. However, from where we were sitting, which was right near the entrance, it was pretty clear that our front of house experience wasn't unique. Not surprisingly, the menu is seafood-based with a lot of fish that are never or rarely found in the UK, such as wahoo, mahi-mahi and grouper. Starters of tempura tuna with pickled ginger and Wahhabi and grilled king scallops with baked Brie and a redcurrant jus were good and a little unusual. Our main courses of wahoo (a very firm white fish similar to swordfish) with julienne vegetables and a pepper salsa were good but a little bland. Service from the friendly and efficient waiter was outstanding and it was good to see a wine list with bottles available for under $40. Overall, a good meal that rates four stars on account of the service and food but is let down by the front of house.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
281 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Excellent Fondue at the bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Several excellent fondues whuch can only be ordered at the bar. We had the classic, and it was terrific. A lot of food for two with all the crudites, cut meats etc they supply to dip, more than you vould possibly use. Bartender afterwards said most people say which they want an advance, not known to first timers like us. We had made a dinner reservation too, and found we really weren't hungry any longer, though we still split a filet mignon. You really cannot plan both the fondue and dinner afterwards. Nice atmosphere in being seated in nicely lit garden. Professional service.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A decent steak off the busy Duval madhouse in the Historic residential area of Key West. Service was friendly with the waiter stopping by several times to chat with us. Filets were good -- not great -- and did not have much flavor although the steak was topped with Roquefort cheese. Key Lime Pie was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaels Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Michaels Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.