We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a romantic dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michaels Restaurant

Michaels Restaurant
532 Margaret St, Key West, FL 33040-7134
305 295-1300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michaels Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 361 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Southard Street
Description: One of the finest Key West restaurants is nestled among the charming tropical back streets of Key West's Old Town District. Come discover a garden oasis where Chef Michael Wilson and his wife Melanie offer a classic menu with an island twist. Their emphasis on quality and service, coupled with casual island elegance, has established Michaels Restaurant as a favorite of Key West locals and visitors with discriminating dining palates. If you're searching for Key West restaurants, search no further. Treat yourself to a delicious dining experience outdoors in a relaxing Key West garden atmosphere or indoors in one of our two dining rooms. Michaels Restaurant is in Old Town Key West, near the corner of Southard Street- on Margaret Street. "From the first chilled martini to the last sumptuous bite of the warm chocolate volcano, Michaels will delight and satisfy. "
Stuart, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great spot for a romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Food and service were excellent. Owner was hands on and made us feel very welcome. Outstanding menu. Pricey but worth it. Very nice atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    575
    165
    50
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington Crossing, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Michaels was highly recommended by our guest house. So we tried it. Many wines on the list were unavailable. We had to wait a very long time for our meal because "a larger party was being serviced", yet we were not told about this in advance nor was there any attempt at compensating us for our unusual wait time. When the food did come, it was good. However, the key lime pie, supposedly their signature dessert, had been in the refrigerator too long and had absorbed the flavors of other foods....yuck.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Key west - Michael's Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Best food, and we had some great meals, during our week in Key West. Steaks and sea food (scallops) were wonderful. A little off the beaten path, but clearly a favorite among the locals so make reservations. Best food we had all week by a large margin.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We really liked this restaurant. Outdoor & indoor dining with great ambiance, professional and friendly staff and excellent food. We arrived before 7 and were able to get the 'light' menu which is 1/2 portions at about 1/2 the price. My not to food adventurous friend loved the meatloaf and mashed potatoes. The yummy coconut shrimp appetizer and a salad are a complete meal. Hard liquor a bit expensive ($10 for V&T), but wine prices typical. We had a table on the romantic patio decorated in low lights and plants. Fine dining with a great value. We visit Key West yearly & now Michael's as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This spot got two visits during our week.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We came here on the recommendation of a couple of members of the Eden House Hotel staff, and we were glad we did. The price is higher than many local restaurants. but far from the highest. The wines available are excellent with many reasonable selections, and the entrees, both seafood and meat, are superb. We came back for my birthday after stopping in a few days before. We both had hogfish the first evening (it's a very meaty, non-fishy fish), and on our return my wife and sister each had seafood again while I tried veal. We loved it both times. This was our favorite in Key West.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michaels Restaurant also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Michaels Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michaels Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.