We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Fine Dinning on the Water.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louie's Backyard

Louie's Backyard
700 Waddell Ave, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-294-1061
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 337 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $80
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Fine Dinning on the Water.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Pricey but worth it. Definitely make a reservation. Go early and sit outside at the bar on the water, ask for a table outside very romantic atmosphere and the food is excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,998 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,214
    392
    160
    110
    122
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amarillo
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fresh fish special of the day was wonderful. Key Lime Pie was also a must have. Make sure you sit outside: view is outstanding

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A birthday treat at Louie's Backyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Following a tip from Philly Tom on our jet ski trip we walked round to Louie's Backyard for lunch on my wife's birthday - so glad we did! Fabulous cocktails, a supremely tasty burger with pineapple relish and a crab cake salad.

We dined outside in the sunshine and the waiting staff were more than happy to give us top tips on what to try. As always in the States the portion sizes were generous and that includes the Bloody Mary as well as the lunches!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's everything they say it is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We celebrated our anniversary here. We had a wonderful waiter - courteous, knowledgeable, happy to accommodate (even when we did the tourist thing and asked him to take our picture).
The food was SPLENDID! Not big drinkers, it was nice to be able to have a glass of Proseco, making the evening a bit more celebratory.
The price was a bit more NY than you would expect for KW - but well worth it! Great place for a special occasion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is only 1/2 a review because we didn't have time to dine here but we did enjoy the lower deck for some cocktails at the end of the day. Absolutely great place and highly recommended. The menus looked great and we can't wait until our next trip to dine here. We stumbled upon this and had to check it out but unfortunately had dinner plans elsewhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louie's Backyard also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Louie's Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louie's Backyard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.