We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Breakfast in Key West...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 365 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Key West...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Love this place...the staff was so friendly, and quick to get our orders in and out.
Love the Rooster's !
Fresh Orange Juice and the Best Breakfast.
Will be going Back.
Want to check out the Key Lime Pie the next time...my it sure looked good, but not for Breakfast!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,055 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,275
    1,212
    357
    131
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A fun and delicious experience in Key West. Lovely ambience, and original menu. I am not vegetarian, but really enjoyed the portabello mushroom dinner. My kids loved watching the roosters wandering around the restaurant, but it made them shy away from ordering chicken!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“3 Stars is Generous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

I can't really say they deserve a poor rating of 2 stars but we were not impressed with the lunch we had. The food was average, nothing to get excited about. Service was lacking. The open picnic table eating area was pretty casual and fine for lunch but I can't imagine having a nice dinner at this place.
The restaurant was recommended to us and that is why we visited for lunch one day. We were in town for several days but chose not to return for another meal.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME breakfast, walk, cab it & be prepared to wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My second visit here and amazing once again! We each had the big breakfast plate for $10 that included a huge pancake, bacon, potatoes & eggs. PLENTY of food! So good! We had an 1hr 45min wait and two bloody mary's each (yum) before we were seated - we were told 1 hour, so add an hour to the time esp if you want to sit outside in the eclectic backyard where roosters and chickens roam and a resident little 'band' plays. Walk or cab it as there is virtually no parking in this residential area.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Love the chickens!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I didn't know chickens were such an important feature of Key West. You'll see them when you eat at Blue Heaven, a lovely spot for breakfast under huge trees. We had a slow waitress, but the food was great and you can't beat the setting.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.