We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The breakfast/brunch here is wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 356 restaurants in Key West
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The breakfast/brunch here is wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great place for breakfast/brunch but don't expect anything fast. I know pace on the Keys is slow but the service here seemed especially so. Not that it's a bad thing here. There's lot's to look at and it's a great place to just hang out. Also lots of stuff to entertain the youg ones.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,466 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    2,877
    1,069
    329
    116
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quintessential Key West dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Great spot to get off Duval St and experience something fun, casual, funky, and yummy. Outdoor dining is great- you get the chickens and cats roaming around, but not in your way at all. Great drinks at the bar, get a mojito! Nice live music for our lunch that wasn't too loud at all (which I really hate loud music at places).
Will definatley be back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great breakfast specials”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I heard about the klp from a local, so I took my husband here for breakfast. Walking by the back of it, you don't see the splendor of the place. But you walk in to this jungle and get seated in the shade of this tropical fun restaurant. Our waiter was very personable. My husband and I got the specials, lobster omelet and lobster Blt breakfasts. Delicious!!! The klp was five inches tall and very refreshing. Unique spot, I want to come back for dinner on our next trip, I hear the chef is excellent!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and eclectic ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Expensive but excellent food. $128 without tip for three. Chickens run around and the live folk music is great. Jerk chicken, filet, scallops, and snapper we've tried on two visits, always great.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We came back again and again! You have to go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is truly a Key West quintessential restaurant. It's tucked away off the street but you will know it by the taxis lining up to drop people off. It is always packed. We went there three different times but only had time to stay and wait for a table once. We waited for an hour and a half due to rain (which wiped out the outside tables) but it was worth it. We sat at the bar, protected by the bar roofing) and watched Pete run crazy trying to get everyone a drink. Luckily, everyone is happy and enjoying the music and environment. We were seated and ordered the Trip Advisor recommended dish-lobster benedict. YOU HAVE TO ORDER THIS! It is delicious. I dream about this meal. One of my favorite meals of all times. No more needs to be said. The service was good and the place is memorable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.