We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the hype” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 338 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean, Pizza, Latvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Miramar, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth the hype”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

If you want good Key Lime pie -- THIS IS THE PLACE!!! Everything was perfect - starting with the curry carrot soup to the Yellow tail Snapper & onward to the dessert. Did I mention the perfect cup of cappuccino? The staff is very friendly too. This was a perfect dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,995 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,912
    1,429
    415
    147
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The best Key Lime Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We ate here while we were in port for the day. Even though we waited about 45 minutes for table, it was well worth the wait. We had the shrimp melt, the locally caught fish that day and blueberry pancakes. Portions are big and delicious! We tried all the local Key Lime Pies and Blue Heaven is hands down the best Key Lime Pie we have ever tasted. Ohhh and the fresh bread is delicious...mmmm. The roosters running around the tables make the experience that much better.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

First off let me say this is my VERY FIRST time writing a review on here and just may be my last. That's how bad my experience was. We went to Blue Heaven for breakfast BC of its "supposedly" good reputation. It was a rainy day and there for the outside section was not open(except for the chickens and cats hanging out) so we had to wait 40 minutes to get seated. Not a big deal in my opinion. Once we got seated upstairs, our waitress was the big deal, literally too. We told her that we didn't want our OJ until we got our meals but she refused and said she was trying to minimize her trips due to having to come upstairs and was quite ignorant about it. So we all ordered OJ and were not told that there were 2 different sizes so of course she got us all larges that were $4 a glass and were not big at all. The small was like a shot glass and that was $2.50. Ridiculous. So then we ordered our food. We ordered the rooster specials and you have to choose between pancakes, toast or banana bread. Really? Toast should be free and the banana bread we saw being carried out a by a lady on her shoulders and no lie her hair was literally in the bread. Well anyway, we got our bill and it was $75 for 4 people. For breakfast! Come to find out, this rip off joint charges extra for EVERYTHING. Syrup, cheese, tomato, you name it. And it was NEVER mentioned by the lazy waitress nor was it on the menu, on purpose of course. That is a disgrace if you ask me. I will NEVER go back to this place and will NEVER recommend it to anybody. Oh, and the sausage was wayyy to spicy for breakfast sausage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Cool Place to check out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were told by friends to go so we did. I'm not an animal person ( don't get mad LOL ) but there are cats and roosters walking around all over. The Key lime pie was all we ordered and it was really good. Loved all the little signs all over. Great for photos

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just got back from our first trip to Key West. It took us a while to discover Blue Heaven, but boy were we glad when we did! We ended up going two times for dinner and breakfast. Even though there was a long wait for breakfast and it was raining we still had a great time enjoying some mimosas and bloody marys under their neat outdoor bar. Visiting Blue Heaven is a must!! I loved the shrimp and grits!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.