We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip off” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 362 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
1 review
“Rip off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

First off let me say this is my VERY FIRST time writing a review on here and just may be my last. That's how bad my experience was. We went to Blue Heaven for breakfast BC of its "supposedly" good reputation. It was a rainy day and there for the outside section was not open(except for the chickens and cats hanging out) so we had to wait 40 minutes to get seated. Not a big deal in my opinion. Once we got seated upstairs, our waitress was the big deal, literally too. We told her that we didn't want our OJ until we got our meals but she refused and said she was trying to minimize her trips due to having to come upstairs and was quite ignorant about it. So we all ordered OJ and were not told that there were 2 different sizes so of course she got us all larges that were $4 a glass and were not big at all. The small was like a shot glass and that was $2.50. Ridiculous. So then we ordered our food. We ordered the rooster specials and you have to choose between pancakes, toast or banana bread. Really? Toast should be free and the banana bread we saw being carried out a by a lady on her shoulders and no lie her hair was literally in the bread. Well anyway, we got our bill and it was $75 for 4 people. For breakfast! Come to find out, this rip off joint charges extra for EVERYTHING. Syrup, cheese, tomato, you name it. And it was NEVER mentioned by the lazy waitress nor was it on the menu, on purpose of course. That is a disgrace if you ask me. I will NEVER go back to this place and will NEVER recommend it to anybody. Oh, and the sausage was wayyy to spicy for breakfast sausage.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,043
    1,134
    343
    121
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool Place to check out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were told by friends to go so we did. I'm not an animal person ( don't get mad LOL ) but there are cats and roosters walking around all over. The Key lime pie was all we ordered and it was really good. Loved all the little signs all over. Great for photos

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just got back from our first trip to Key West. It took us a while to discover Blue Heaven, but boy were we glad when we did! We ended up going two times for dinner and breakfast. Even though there was a long wait for breakfast and it was raining we still had a great time enjoying some mimosas and bloody marys under their neat outdoor bar. Visiting Blue Heaven is a must!! I loved the shrimp and grits!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Incredible brunch. Classic Key West.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate here twice during a 1-week stay and would have gone back for more if we'd had more time. The ambience is classic Key West down to the chickens wandering the grounds. Don't miss the pecan pancakes. This is where I discovered my appreciation for Bloody Mary's. YUM!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dessert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We ate the key lime pie and banana heaven desserts one evening instead of dinner since we ate a late lunch. Both were the best desserts we ate the entire trip!! It was a rainy day so we sat at the bar. The bartender was very nice and the walk home in the rain was worth every bite!!! A must try in key west!!!!! A-Mazing!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.