We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Island Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 337 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Island Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and I had a one night stay in Key West, we visited a friend and he recommended Blue Heaven. We went there and I had the Yellow Snapper, it was amazing! The atmosphere set a great island mood, it was open air and a beautiful February evening. I would strongly recommend this venue. Food was great and atmosphere was amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,857
    1,404
    407
    145
    92
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great food and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went there for lunch on the recommendation of a couple we met. Food was delicious, lots of chickens and roosters to entertain us since we were too early for the stage entertainment.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good breakfast with unique atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Having just arrived into Key West from Edinburgh, Scotland breakfast was a priority. Blue Heaven came recommended. I couldn't yet face any of the wide selections of Benedict but my friend had the BLT (bacon, lobster, tomato) one which looked beautiful. I would have enjoyed a good cup of tea 'though. The water really does need to be boiling.

Atmosphere was very relaxed. Chickens with three little chicks ran around us without causing any problem. Service was friendly and speedy.

A good way to start our trip to Key West.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My hubby & I had been once before, but decided to bring some family who were visiting to have lunch at the Blue Heaven. The location is quirky & cute, with roosters & cats running around under the beautiful tree-canopied patio area. Our server was an adorable girl, who I believe was German. I don't remember her name, but much friendlier than the hostess that seats you.

I ordered the chicken salad on arugula with cornbread, and it was delicious! My hubby had the lobster platter special, one couple both had the shrimp platters and the other had the burgers. Everyone enjoyed their meals. The special platters were a bit pricey for a lunch meal, but they tasted great. The salad & burgers were both reasonably priced.

Cool place on a hot day!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great atmosphere and lovely food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

A lovely, lively atmosphere in this restaurant's outdoor and under cover eating area (indoor seating is available too). The Caribbean themed menu offers lots of choices - the Jerk Chicken was excellent. Be sure to book in advance and turn up on time - or risk waiting longer for your table...!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.