We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven

Blue Heaven
729 Thomas St, Key West, FL 33040-7334
305-296-8666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
bucks county
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never fails!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We have eaten here before nd enjoyed it just as much! We visited with Blue Heaven virgins and enjoyed seeing it through their eyes! We ordered partly off the menu and a couple of specials. Each of us were extremely pleased. We had great service and our waitress was nice and knowledgeable and unruffled although pretty busy. Key lime pie is a must, very unique as is the entire experience. A must for any visitor to Key West, we will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,306
    1,222
    360
    132
    80
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Snapper dish like nowhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Year after year, when we return to Key West, we dine at Blue Heaven. In addition to having outdoor dining, great service, consistently professional and friendly staff, the food, especially the yellowtail snapper, is great. The snapper is prepared in a deliciousl distinctly flavored sauce and served over angel hair pasta.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The food was average and over priced .the table was right by the sidewalk yet we booked the day before, several people refused the table next to us.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The atmosphere was worth the trip but be prepared to open your wallet.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Everyone says "you have to go to blue heaven" and I agree. Just be prepared to shell out some cash, especiallyif you want a drink with breakfast.. or several. Definately as must do after a long night out. Go early or get a reservation bc it fills up fast. Everyone eats on an outside patio wuich is truly cool. Take a second to read the history on the menu.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A long wait but worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We went late for breakfast and were told it would be an hour wait. We put our names oj the list and I got a drink with fresh squeezed oj. Great! Finally we were seated and she got the banana pancakes while I got the special - surf and turf eggs benedict. It was steak and lobster - excellent! The pancakes were so fluffy and delicious either with or without the banana added. We ended with their famous key lime pie in a great homemade graham cracker crust. An incredible meal and we will definitely be back. It wa quirky with a full-service bar in an outdoor area with lots of foliage providing a canopy. Also there are chickens running around. If that bit of ambiance is not for you then you can still eat upstairs away from it. Service was great as well. I heartily recommend this place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heaven also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Blue Heaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.