We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Marquesa

Cafe Marquesa
600 Fleming St, Marquesa Hotel, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-292-1919
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #72 of 337 Restaurants in Key West
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American, International, Asian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
madison, wi
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Memorable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice bistro-style restaurant with excellent and creative food. If you're looking for a view and laid-back atmosphere, Cafe Marquesa is not for you. It's more upscale (white linen tableclothes) and not very intimate but the food was outstanding! I ordered the lobster and key west pink shrimp in thai butter sauce entree and it was divine. My husband had the goat-cheese encrusted lamb and it was one of the best lamb dishes we have ever had - perfectly done and the balance of flavors and attention to detail were outstanding, so bravo to the chef! The only criticism is that the service was a bit standoffish and cold - too bad because the food is truly memorable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    102
    41
    19
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nothign extra”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

poor/rude service, food nothing special, no view what so ever, overpriced for getting average and below average, please train your staff not to pour vine into my half full glass, if I'll need more I'll ask or help myself from the ice bucket which is right next to me ... I do not thing we will ever go back

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Exquisite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This restaurant lives up to its stellar reputation. The total dining experience was exquisite from the cocktails and service, to the remarkable and creative food selections. The only critique would be that if you are looking for an intimate dining experience this is not the place. It feels like a bistro with close tables and high noise levels. We knew this going in so it did not diminish our dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Elegent Dinner in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We drove by Cafe Marquesa and knew this was our kind of place... candle lit tables in a small quiet dining room. We eat fresh local seafood and area specialties -- smoked salmon, Florida lobster with Key West Pink Shrimp, plus a delighful Key Lime Napolian with fresh tropical fruit. A great way to spend a special night in Key West!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye Lake, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed in what had always been great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We saved the Marquesa for "last" for our trip. The food was more expensive than most, the tables now so close you could use your neighbor's napkin, and after we were seated early, they placed 5 loud people next to us even though the restaurant was mostly empty. They were so loud, we stopped eating early, and left right away.
The food was the lowest of any restaurant we visited this trip; bland, slightly overcooked; nothing special at all. Sadly, we won't be back; there are just too many better places, and at better prices.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Marquesa also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Cafe Marquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Marquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.