We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting to First Responders-My Fire Fighter Brothers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Key West Firehouse Museum

Key West Firehouse Museum
1024 Grinnell St., Key West, FL
1-305-849-0678
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 188 things to do in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A museum dedicated to the history of fire fighting in the Florida Keys
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting to First Responders-My Fire Fighter Brothers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

As a 34 year Firefighter, and former Chief, this museum was interesting in how far we have come. A nice tribute to 9/11 NYFD is located in lobby-as well as in the museum. " When others come out, we go in."

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for visiting and taking the time to write a review.
We hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    15
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Good start for the new museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went to the museum with limited time. The former key west fore chief was working and gave a great and informative your. He had many intersting facts from his years of service. They recently opened and are working to improve and add to their display.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerhose3, at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review. We appreciate your input and feel privileged to have our old chief here at least once a week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth making time for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This little museum is a great piece of Key West history. The staff is very knowledgeable & helpful and can answer questions and add interesting facts about the items on display. There's an engine the kids can sit on & sound the siren, as well as a firebox they can hear the tones. Don't miss the coal pit that was used for the steamer. My son is studying to be a firefighter & he thoroughly enjoyed the displays of historical items, as well as seeing several items donated from the Boston crew. Well worth the hour or so it takes to tour the facilities.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your review. It was a pleasure showing you our museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A piece of history.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was a nice little museum. We had a informative tour, given by a former Fire Chief of the Dept. The Chief gave a lot of details, and history, it was quite interesting. If you are a firefighter, you will get a discounted rate. At the time of our visit (6-19-2013), the regular rate was $10.00

It would be nice if the 1st floor was air conditioned, and if they would have a few more displays. All in all, it was a nice side trip, and took about 1 hour, with the tour. If you just walk through on your own, and don't read every plaque or display, you could be done in 15-30 min.
Little kids might like to sit on the 1929 Amer. LaFrance pumper. There is also an old fire box, you can activate, and set the tones off. ;)
(FF's bring a patch to trade)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerhose3, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to visit and review our museum. We appreciate your input. We are in the process of closing in the engine room doors so that our a/c will be effective. The donations we receive thanks to people like you, will be used for these improvements. We hope that it will be more comfortable on your next visit. We also have more items to display as soon as we figure out the best way to do it without losing too much of the feel of a functional engine room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Illinois
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The wait is over.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Have been waiting for the museum to open for the past few years we have been coming down for vacation. Today was finally our day to visit. From the time we entered until the time we left the staff of Jerry and Rich were very cordual. They answered any and all questions we had. I would recommend the museum to all. Firefighter or not it was every interesting and worth the money. Thanks again to the staff for all the souvenirs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TigerHose, Director of Operations at Key West Firehouse Museum, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thanks David,
We were very happy to show you around and we appreciate your kind words. We also want to thank you for buying all those souviniers. You made our week. Hope to see you again and if I get up that way to visit my friends I would love to check out your department.
Rich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Key West Firehouse Museum also viewed

 

Been to Key West Firehouse Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Key West Firehouse Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.