We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mellow Ventures

Mellow Ventures
201 William St. Key West Historic Sea Port Slip D-8, Behind Turtle Kraals, Key West, FL 33040
+1 305-745-3874
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 326 Activities in Key West
Type: Boat Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ever wonder where Key West natives go on the water, what they see that the average visitor does not, where all those breathtaking images are shot? Well, Mellow Ventures will take you there. See the most beautiful and remote locations, private beaches, traverse mangrove lined passages through hammocks Where birds and fish abound, fish, snorkel, paddle board, kayak and more. With Mellow Ventures you van create your own experience of a life time.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A day to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I made light of a bad situation (cancelled attraction) by booking a full day 8-3 out on Mellow Ventures.
Mellow's unique offering of tailor-made trips is superb. This was the selling point for us and what made us choose them over the other offerings. Having this distinguishing feature elevates their business above the "competition".
We opted to do snorkelling/fishing as we have paddle boards where we live, although the paddle boarding looked like a lot of fun!
We indicated that we wanted to explore shallow wrecks snorkelling which Capt. Shane (experienced and with a tonne of local knowledge) took us to which was great! We then fished off the same wreck.
We also went to an island beach were the water was crystal clear and bright blue, against a white sand beach which was nice to explore and take some photos.
Another feature which elevates Mellow is that the operator takes photos and sends them to you which is great when there are only a couple of people.
Thanks Shane for a fantastic day out, we had a blast and hope to be back in the future.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Shane is AWESOME, great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a great trip seeing starfish and dolphins. Shane is an awesome guide and a really neat guy. Great experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A kids point of view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

THE BEST TIME OF MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We had so much fun!! We went to an island and had lunch and we went snorkeling and we stopped in the most beautiful water that I ever saw in my life and we got to jump off of the side of the boat! We paddle-boarded and fished I caught the biggest fish I ever caught, a hound fish. It was over 3 ft! You should go it was awesome!! Shane (the captain) was the best ever!!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane A, Captain at Mellow Ventures, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
That was definitely a great day and some fun fishing! So glad you guys had such a great time and we look forward to seeing all of you in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Going to do it again, today!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been to Key West 4 times and have done several different water activities. We have done the huge catamaran snorkel trips with a big crowd down to a small 4 person trip. Liking the smaller size and wanting to do something different, we booked Mellow Ventures for a very specific charter. To watch and photograph the sunset and the, "Supermoon." They were very accommodating and the Captain, Shane, took us to a great vantage point, away from the crowds and light pollution of Key West. We are so happy with our experience with them, that we have booked another trip for later today. This time for some snorkeling and paddling.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane A, Captain at Mellow Ventures, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Was a real pleasure hangin out with you guys and look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“He took us to heaven and back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

He took us to heaven and back!

We live in Chicago and don't get a chance to go boating on the ocean often.
When we booked a day at sea with Mellow Ventures, we hoped to see some oceanic
sea life but we never expected to have such intimate once in lifetime encounters
with so many varieties! As we boarded captain Shane took our pre-packed lunches
and drinks and organized them in his coolers with such impeccable care I knew
immediately we were in good hands. We took off slow on glass waters on a
picture perfect day! All of a sudden the hull rose up and we were off! How
fun!!! As we sped away from shore, excitement filled my veins, we are in for an
adventure! The boat slowed and captain Shane looked very deep in thought, he was
casing the bottom of the ocean for "the perfect spot." He drove around until he
was satisfied which made us feel very valued. I have never had the opportunity
to go snorkeling, so I was not really sure what to expect and to be honest was
not sure I wanted to do it! Shane took all my fears away, explained everything
and made me feel so at ease, I jumped right in! I'm 36 yrs old, never too late
to try something new. I absolutely loved the experience and I cannot wait to
snorkel again. Shane pointed out coral heads, many varieties of tropical fish,
nurse sharks and even a sea turtle. Beginners luck? Nah, I truly feel Shane
knows his niche and was able to "call" these little friends to come join us to
play! After we had enough that, I was anxious to see what was next. We got
settled in the boat and before long, off we went to our next adventure! The boat
slowed and I couldn't believe my eyes! Were we in a beer commercial? It looked
THAT good, almost appeared to fake scenery or a Hollywood back drop of some
sort?! I saw a small island in the distance and a sand bar all around us. So
shallow we could step out of the boat onto the sand bar if we wanted. Shane
asked if this was a good spot or if we would like to eat our lunch on an actual
island. Tough choice, nothing could be more beautiful than this, right? We
stayed here for a bit taking in the gorgeous views and opted for the island.
Once we arrived we literally laughed in delight. The island was more stunning
than we could imagine! There was another boat off in the distance but for the
most part, we were alone. Who doesn't dream of spending a little time on a
private island? It's what vacations are meant to be! Shane helped us load our
lunches onto paddleboards and we waded through the water to what looked like the
gates of heaven opening up! Once on the island we walked around a little bit as
we still felt we were dreaming. Pinch me! Wait, no don't, I do not want to wake
up! We all enjoyed lunch, a little first time paddle boarding for our group
under supervision of our beloved captain Shane. He was so patient with us and I
appreciated that he didn't laugh! Ha! We wasted the day away with drinks sitting
on a nearby sandbar so we could view our private island as long as possible. We
were there for hours and enjoyed every moment. Time to leave! We loaded up the
boat and we were off once again. I figured that was all we would see and we were
headed back to shore, I was reliving my day in my mind with a smile, then the
boat stopped. I looked to the right and there was a sunken ship! This place is
too good to be true! Wow, another Hollywood set? Nope, an old war vessel, Shane
gladly went over the history in detail, which I enjoyed thoroughly. We took
some photos and we were off again. Again, a huge smile on my face and in my
heard that we saw something else unexpected. This trip was the best thing we
did. Suddenly, the boat slowed down again....what now? I couldn't even prepare
myself for the moment I was about to experience. Dolphins! Jumping up out of the
water and swimming around our boat. I swear Shane is the animal whisperer of the
sea, he needs his own show on the Discovery channel! We took pictures and even
some short videos of the experience. I've never been that close to a wild
dolphin, it was life changing to be that close to nature, so beautiful! As we
arrived at shore, the chartered, larger boats, sailboats were off for their
sunset cruises, they patrons were waving to us. I kept thinking there is NO way
your boat ride will ever come close to the day Shane just showed us, I almost
felt sorry for them. What a great kick off to my summer! Now I find myself
constantly checking flights to see when I can get back! We chose Mellow
Ventures because of the excellent review ratings and now I completely understand
why! I rarely write reviews online but I felt compelled to write my own review
as I feel so strongly about this tour. You do not have to wonder if you should
book, I'd do it now if you can once word gets out I believe it will be hard to
get a reservation! We will be back Captain Shane! Thank you for an amazing life
changing experience!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane A, Captain at Mellow Ventures, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Wow Janet! Can't thank you enough for that amazing review. So glad you enjoyed your trip and can't wait to take you out again next time. You guys were awesome and I had a blast spending the day with all of you. See ya next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mellow Ventures also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Ventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mellow Ventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.