We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change up restaurant in Key West” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solo American Bistro

Solo American Bistro
610 Greene Street, Key West, FL
305-296-2033
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #212 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Eclectic, Bistro, Fusion
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Change up restaurant in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Excellent. Calm, elegant and yes it is in Key West. They have a great Happy hour half price wine Either by the bottle or by the glass. Also half-price cocktails half-price appetizers and half priced flatbreads. Justin was our waiter and was just as great as Solo. We ate on the patio, however, check out the inside. Wow! It is no Sloppy Joes. More like unsloppy SoHo. The menu has a few twists that you will enjoy. Oh yea, we live in Key West 8 months of the year and eat here often.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    58
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great romantic restaurant with great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I dined here and were very impressed with the feel of the place. Our server Justin was personable, and very friendly, with great suggestions to the menu. The menu was excellent. We highly recommend this place and will eat here again when we visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Something NEW for Key west :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Solo is a great restaurant. Excellent food and service. From now on it will be Our favorite restaurant in Key West. You can dine inside or outside.GREAT atmosphere!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Find in Key West”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We live in Key West part time and are always on the lookout for new restaurants. This trip we discovered Solo American Bistro. During our last stay in KW we visited 5 times need l say more.

From the street it is very difficult to see into the restaurant, do take the trouble to step in side, they have created a great space.

Some of the servers are excellent and really make the evening.

Two little comments guys. The tables on the outside terrace are way too small for eating dinner. The inside walls need some artwork or mirrors for those facing the rather blank walls.

Great Find, hope they keep up the great standard for our next visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solo American Bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were in Key West a week ago. Prior to our visit, I checked out TripAdvisor for new restaurants since April 2012. Solo American was one of them so we read many great/positive reviews. Naturally, we wondered if we could trust them! We could. We had a very large lunch that day @ Little Palm Island Resort on Little Torch Key (very scenic locale, good food and VERY expensive!!!) so we just wanted a light meal for dinner. We ordered several appetizers - the flat breads were delicious as were the cheese plate, beet salad & arugula salads. Desserts were yummy too! Our server, Arlette, was a real pleasure. She was very sweet, sharing some of her personal, family background with us and was very charming & fun. The restaurant space was very classy, very New York City-like. It was a very enjoyable experience.
Other quick reviews:
2 Cents - ok - an eclectic menu.
Grunts - very good food on a busy-looking plate. The problem with this place is that you have to pay for your meal separately from your bar bill so you get two credit card transactions for the same meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo American Bistro also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Solo American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.