We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosmopolitan decor in the Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solo American Bistro - CLOSED

Solo American Bistro
610 Greene Street, Key West, FL
305-296-2033
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: American, Fusion, Bistro, Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Colorado
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Cosmopolitan decor in the Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Lovely accommodating hostess Mary Kay made us welcome on the phone and again upon our arrival. We chose the patio ,as it was a sunny warm night. Our capable server Samantha was knowledgeable and helpful when it came to choosing our dinners. Menu is interesting enough. The drinks were good size and the wine was a generous pour. I wasn't sure which wine I wanted, and Samantha suggested I taste both. Nice!
One minor complaint is the appetizer took too long to come out of the kitchen. I like to have a little time to enjoy my cocktail, but this was beyond reasonable. The restaurant wasn't particularly busy and I felt we waited too long for appetizers. This wouldn't keep me from going back by any means. This little spot is definitely on my Key West radar.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    58
    19
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“New, Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Key West needed a new tasty restaurant, and it now has one with Solo. Great wait service, good food.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The secrets out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Fantastic food! Attentive and experienced wait staff--Samantha!Delicious, excellently prepared and worthy of comparable dining in Chicago! I'd like to keep this place a secret, but I want to give high praise for a memorable dining experience. I hope you enjoy Solo as much as we did.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“You're not solo at Solo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our first impression of Solo was not good - decibel level = shout to be heard. We complained to the waiter who expressed concern, but we did not expect action. Then the manager and DJ came to our table, told us they hoped we enjoy our meal and turned down the music. After that - the food is supurb at nominal price for Key West. The signature dish is the Short Ribs over Ravioli - it is excellent (and for $28 with a veggie is a bargain). We're locals - an we will go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An unexpected turn!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We called 30 min before and they took us right in!! We had a party of four and were welcomed by a lovely hostess ! She let us choose a booth style table and told us to have a wonderful signature cocktail they created ! We looked at menu and the 4 of us thought maybe just a appetizer , the menu did not read well? Our sever Samantha came over and explained the details of the menu , she sold us on everything !!! Her descriptions were mouthwatering! We ordered appetizers and all of us had an entree! The food was over the top!!! We really loved the vibe there , everyone working there was smiling! I would highly recommend this restaurant ! And Samantha gave us great service !

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solo American Bistro also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solo American Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.