We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing French bakery in USA.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frenchies Cafe

Frenchies Cafe
529 United Street, Key West, FL 33040
3053967124
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 367 Restaurants in Key West
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most amazing French bakery in USA.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Traveled Paris and French Riviera and the pastries and baguettes at Frenchies are better hands down!!! Extremely clean and friendly owners. We loved everything so much we took enough to for our family back home. The smell in our car is making us crazy! Not sure how many pastries will make the entire 3 hour drive home!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    48
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best French Baguette”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are always in search of good baguettes to take to the beach to have with some cheese as a simple and inexpensive lunch alternative. This bread hit the mark!! It was too good to put anything on...just perfect by itself! YUMMY!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Frenchies Cafe for breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Quick, authentic French cafe breakfast. Fine pastries, good coffee, croque monsieur, friendly staff. They take your picture and post it on the wall, so watch out if you're hiding out!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food, poor sanitation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

I'd like to say that this place gives me mixed feelings: the food is so delicious, staff is super friendly, and presentation colorful, but they have obsolutely NO clue about basic sanitation requirements: the ice scoop is inside the ice machine- AT ALL TIMES, the knife is being cleaned with a cleaning rag, no one EVER uses gloves, they touch filthy money while right after that they touch a croissant or a salad, the "chef" is the waiter and the counter person at the same time, he NEVER wares an apron, but wares flip-flops, doesn't have sanitizer water bucket ANYWHERE, the utensils are left on top of the random surfaces, hands are being wiped on cleaning rags and so on and on. I wish the entire staff, including the owners, took the Florida ServSafe class, they'd be shocked how many violations they've been committing. It's dangerous to others, please shape up!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Had lovely and very authentic french breakfast. Beautiful place, great staff, great food including bread and croissants...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchies Cafe also viewed

Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 
Key West, Florida Keys
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Frenchies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frenchies Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.