We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safety first” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Tortugas National Park

Dry Tortugas National Park
Key West, FL
(305) 242-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Manchester
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Safety first”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Really appreciated that the sea plane company had the curtosey to postpone and reschedule due to high winds. Un fortunately, the winds continued and we we unable to take this trip. I would advise booking for the first day of your holiday and then you can reschedule for subsequent days in case of inclement weather. well managed company, but disappointed about he weather, however, fully appreciate safety first. Thank you

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,128
    204
    36
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Air vs. Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

If you go from Key West to Dry Tortugas National Park, which is predominantly water, It might be worth it to reserve a half day seat on the seaplane trip (8am, 10am, noon and 2pm) rather than take the ferry. The seaplane costs $280 per person, but it gets you there in 45 minutes and flies low enough that you can see dolphins and shipwrecks, etc. The ferry is cheaper but it takes almost 2 hours each way and once you get to the fort you are there ALL DAY. The fort is very interesting. Park rangers are helpful and informative, The exhibits, gift shop and trails are excellent. There are beautiful beaches for snorkeling and plenty of picnic spots. If you go by seaplane you should have exactly the right amount of time there. Check out Dry Tortugas website for links to reserve, and don't wait until you are down there because it fills up. If you go by ferry, it is also advisable to book that online in advance. The ferry provides breakfast on the way, and lunch while you are at the fort. For anyone who gets seasick, the ferry ride can be rough. Unless the weather is bad in the morning, they will go out as scheduled. That means that if the sea turns rough, you will be riding back through it, and a lot of folks on the ferry had mal de mer big time. The only over-nighting at Dry Tortugas is for people who have camping permits. It would be roughing it, so do your homework.
TAKE BUG REPELLANT!!!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great historical site with excellent snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and daughters, 16 and 12, took the Yankee Freedom ferry to Fort Jefferson. Upon arrival, we went on the narrated fort tour and really enjoyed the great information that was shared with us. Afterward, we took to the beach for some snorkeling. Contrary to what I have read in other reviews, I thought that the snorkeling was fantastic. I have snorkeled throughout the Caribbean and Florida Keys many times over the past decade or so and this was one of my favorite spots. The pilings near the main dock allow you to swim through massive schools of bait fish on the way to weaving your way through a grid of wooden poles where I saw barracuda, parrot fish and even a large wahoo once near the edge of the piling network where the water was deeper.

After that, I went to the smaller beach where I swam by myself around the corner to the other set of pilings where the water was more turbulent but patience while swimming through the shallow water allowed me to see the largest, most beautiful parrot fish that I had other seen. There were lots of coral formations attached to the pilings. I definitely had to be patient and take my time picking my way through the area but it was well worth the effort.

All said, we had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A great day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We went via boat which was a great relaxing ride. About 2 1/2 hours each way. Bring plenty of sunscreen. Contintental breakfast and lunch is provided. The snorkling was not as good as we had expected. Never say anything except a few fish until we went along the wall. Alot of corals and fish here. We should have started there. The history of the fort is interesting. A full day. Glad we went.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An awesome day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a must for each of our visits to Key West. Although the 2 1/2 hr boat ride is long, it's well worth it and part of the trip experience. We saw numerous sea turtles long the way. Ships crew provided a great breakfast and excellent lunch. Historic fort is fascinating to tour and the beach was incredible. My family snorkels and really enjoyed it. We are very pleased with this excursion and highly recommend it

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Tortugas National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.