We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Tortugas National Park

Dry Tortugas National Park
Key West, FL
(305) 242-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Fort Jefferson is a wonderful site. Beach and snorkelling were great. Worth every penny. Just the food on the boat not too great.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    207
    38
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois, Usa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seaplane Ride was awsome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Want to do something different? A seaplane ride to Fort Jefferson in the Dry Tortugas is worth every penny! You can explore the for guided or on your own and you are provided with snorkel gear to explore the ocean.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great trip if the water is quiet. Staff on board very friendly and efficient. Tour guide was very knowledgable about Fort's history.
Food supplied was fresh and well presented.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our expectations were to experience another National Park and some beach time. We were treated to a great boat trip on the Yankee Freedom. The crew of the Yankee Freedom were knowledgable and helpful. Michael and Jeff took us on an hourlong tour of the park and answered any questions that we had which made the tour a little more personable. After we toured the fort we were fitted with snorkel gear (they showed us an instructional video on the way over) and directed toward the best area to snorkel. The white sand beach was superior to any on Key West and we enjoyed our next couple of hours. On our trip back we were "buzzed" by and F5 fighter jet who passed us a few times (training??), which was a bonus to our trip. I would highly recommend this trip to any who enjoy a little sightseeing and beach time while visiting Key West.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Better than a road trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

A cousin of mine recomended this trip when he heard we were going to Key West. When I saw the price I was hesitant, but after reading all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor decided to go ahead. This was probably the best excursion my wife and I have ever taken!!! In fact, after what we experienced it was CHEAP for what we got! I walked the windward side of the beach to Palm Key and took some of the prettiest pictures ever! My advice...read up on it and GO!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Tortugas National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.