We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dry Tortugas National Park

Dry Tortugas National Park
Key West, FL
(305) 242-7700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 69 Attractions in Key West
Type: National Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Another memorable national park experience. First getting to the island was well organized and pleasant offered by the Yankee Freedom III. The breakfast and lunch provided was tasty and filling. The teens even liked it. Oh, and the boat staff were very accommodating. Secondly the tour of Fort Jefferson was interesting and gives a new meaning to the word prison. Lastly the snorkeling was great, loved by our party of five. Would highly recommend this trip. Be aware they don't call it dry for nothing, bring ample sunscreen and a water bottle...the YF provides water and beverages.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,148
    207
    38
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“flying fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The flying fish on the way over were to cool, and the tour of fort Jefferson was awesome. First time snorkeling and it was fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worth Every Penny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

What a great trip! We love to snorkel and couldn't had a better place to do it. They served breakfast and lunch which both were good. On the way over we had a mini performance of an f-15 flyby! It was great! If you get a chance to do the trip you'll love it!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great little adventure.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We flew on a seaplane to the island for the morning, which, for us, was plenty. We are not much for laying on a beach, soaking up cancer- and wrinkle-causing sun. The flight was were the extra cost, as opposed to taking the boat. We arrived earlier than the first boatload of tourists, so were able to enjoy seeing the fort, swimming and snorkeling long before the crowds arrived.
The fort was interesting. Our pilot and flight were fantastic. We could see sharks and sea turtles from the air.
The snorkeling was okay, not the best I've experienced. The water was crystal clear.
Definitely worth the expense!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We took the seaplane to the park for the second time. You get there before the crowds from the Yankee Freedom (the boat) arrives. It was fantastic and a do over each year!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dry Tortugas National Park also viewed

 
Key West, Florida Keys
 

Been to Dry Tortugas National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dry Tortugas National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.