We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Palms Hotel- Key West

Save Saved
You added The Palms Hotel- Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palms Hotel- Key West
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   820 White Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 98 Key West B&B and Inns
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Laid back comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights last November - just wonderful - the room was spotless and the beds really comfortable - the breakfast bar by the pool had everything you could possibly want together with a very welcoming fellow with the biggest smile ever - and the manager was a blast -should have been a comedian - very dry sense of humour - loved the building itself - very quirky and interesting - would definitely come back again

Room Tip: We had room 13 - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    123
    61
    25
    24
See reviews for
59
130
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I live in south florida and travel to Key West 3 times a years. The last 2 we stayed at the Palms Hotel and we LOVED it! It was priced right at $90 a night off season, and my husband is handicapped and they upgraged us free so he wouldnt have to walk up the stairs! Yes the rooms are smaller than a "HOTEL" but it is an old victorian house made into a hotel, AND Im am a very frugal person and wont stay at fance hotels anyway, Im looking for value more than size. They have a great breakfast bar served out by the pool every morning and the staff is very nice. It is more of a bed and breakfast than a hotel feel. It was very close to all the action on Duval St. I brought my own bike to ride from home but they do offer bike rentals to get around very cheap. I have read some of the other reviews and if your looking for a fancy upscale hotel this isnt for you. The old time victorian house really was beautiful, the rooms are VERY clean and well taken care of and LOTS of places around to sit and relax. WE LOVE the Palms and will go back again and again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The grounds are very clean, the staff is very kind (not phony kind) and super helpful. Breakfast was yummy and fed us up right every morning. Pool was great, liked the roaming rooster. If you are looking for a place to hang your hat, have a basic room, this is a great place for you. Bike rentals are cheap and on premises. Would recommend every time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Palm Hotel. While we knew it was older, we didn't realize it was that old.

Our room was a little stuffy and did smell moldy. We stayed in a room with two queen beds; it was a good size and very clean. We had to share a bathroom, which was a little troublesome. But we dealt with it.

We did walk to Duval Street from the hotel - it wasn't too bad of a walk; it was about 10 minutes. If you take a cab it's about $6.

The pool was nice, we only went swimming once.

Overall, we wouldn't stay there again. We don't feel the prices reflect the value. I'd stay at a hotel of the same quality, if it was closer to Duval Street. If you choose to stay here, keep in mind it's not a Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was a little shocked at first how small the room was but got used to. Once I got used to, I got more accustomed to. This is an entry level style motel. Would have far preferred here over a chain hotel/motel. The staff is attentive but not pushy. The breakfast experience was nice, a good value. Constructive criticism, I think it would be a worthwhile investment for hotel to add 1/2 or 1/4 fridges in guestrooms. There is ice (which got used a lot), in this climate, it is just an expectation to have a fridge. Location was great, we walked to Duval St.....about a 15 minute walk but not a big deal.

Room Tip: Confirm dimensions of your room; had I been traveling alone, it would not have been a big deal but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We were in Key West only for one night, but I would have gladly stayed a few more nights at The Palms. Our group of 6 booked the two rooms upstairs from the office (136 and 137) and after the office closed, we had the whole building (small living room, full kitchen, and two bathrooms) to ourselves. The breakfast at the pool was very nice. My son enjoyed a morning swim while I had coffee and we got to meet some of the other guests. The rooms were not fancy, but they were clean and comfortable and it was very quiet in our rooms. I read some other reviewers' complaints about the noisiness, but we did not experience that at all. For some, the hotel might be a little far from the "action", but this is why the rates are cheaper and it did not bother us in the least.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at The Palms, especially the service! Danny welcomed us when we arrived, and made sure we understood how to best use what the hotel had to offer. We wouldn't have known about some of the neat things if he hadn't told us-- the communal kitchen area, the bike rentals, etc. as well as parking. He asked what we had planned, and was familiar with the specific activities. He mentioned a few things that turned out to be helpful for us, about things totally separate from our stay at the hotel-- but about our vacation.

The woman who checked us out was also really organized and friendly. She helped us out, since our last activity was snorkeling and we had nowhere to park for the afternoon, and nowhere to shower. We ended up just air-drying and skipping showers at the end, but it was really nice of her to offer.

They seem to really know how to help travelers out!

I looked at a lot of hotels online, and looked at the photos customers had posted... there are a lot of really dingy hotels in Key West. So, for the price, I think this place was totally fine, and had great character and was clean. It's not super fancy, but was perfectly comfortable. We loved walking through the place, down to the pool area, and just walking around the little mazes of it. Another review said the breakfast seemed it was "straight from Costco". Well, I don't know if it was or not, but it was really quite good! My husband I eat tons of fruit, and the fruit was very fresh, and they had a good variety of muffins, bagels, toast, beverages, etc!

We also absolutely loved the location. It's not in the middle of everything, but is definitely in walking distance. The location was totally perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Palms Hotel- Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palms Hotel- Key West

Address: 820 White Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palms Hotel- Key West 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms Hotel is the perfect hybrid of a quaint historically built guesthouse with all the amenities of a modern hotel in the historic district of Key West, 8 short blocks to Duval. Complimentary breakfast, seasonally heated pool, WI-FI property wide, guest computer, bicycle rental ($), BBQ picnic spot and lounge areas around the porches of the property. Each of our guest rooms is equipped with a TV, telephone, individually controlled air conditioner and ceiling fans. Children welcome. Pets under 35 lbs welcome ($). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Palms Hotel- Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palms Hotel- Key West Hotel Key West
Palms Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Palms Hotel- Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.