We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilot House Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilot House Guest House
Save
You added Pilot House Guest House to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   414 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Food, shopping and bars are all very close. The cabanas and pool area have a tropical feel. Rooms have a unique layout and were very clean.
The clothing optional pool and hot tub were a fun change for us. Room Tip: Cabana 13, (second floor) has a private balcony off the back that faces the west sun. The pool area did not have much sun (January). We shall return!!

Room Tip: Cabana 13, (second floor) has a private balcony off the back that faces the west sun. The pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
A poolside room with a King Size bed a bathroom with a Jacuzzi tub and huge Euro shower, a kitchenette for those amazing leftovers from dinner at Louis Back Yard or Pizza from Luigis on the corner.
January has been alittle chilly up north but the sun's still shining here in key West.

The Pool is secluded and private surrounded by classic Key west homes and gardens so the sun is alittle restricted very ingenious of you to catch some extra rays on the balcony.

Renting a pair of Bikes from the Pilot house is the best way to get out and around. A favorite beach is Ft Zachary Taylor.
Thanks for the review
Virginia Manager Pilot House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    47
    8
    6
    11
See reviews for
2
230
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This little gem is a great bed without the breakfast. Located close to the Key West action without being in the middle of it, we were able to walk everywhere without getting in the car again. Duvall Street, Hemingway's House, ferry to the Dry Tortugas were all a pleasant stroll away. We especially enjoyed the room number one with the private front porch just made for relaxing with a good book. The swimming pool, jacuzzi and bikes for riding around added to the choices in a day. Beats the standard hotel chain room any day. Folks at the check in desk were very helpful with any request.

Room Tip: By the pool if you want to be buffered from the street or room number one if you want a private comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
That's us, a Bed without the breakfast, the Pilot House rooms all come minimally with a kitchenette or in some rooms full kitchens and the location can't be beat for choice dinning experiences.
Weather your looking for fine dining Prime in the historic Seaport right where the ferry from Ft Myers docks. A quick snack Bo's fish wagon, or some local flavor five brothers bodega. to name just a few. We are perfectly situated for what your craving. Restaurants Clubs bars beaches all just a walk away.
Looking for Jimmy Buffet? I order out from Margaritaville 1/2 a block away on Duval street. And Room 1 is a definite favorite with the front porch for relaxing and watching the world go by.
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us look forward to seeing you again
Virginia Pilot house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I always talk about owning a place in Key West but we just always say we have one already in the Pilot House. We stayed in the attic suite again, always it is a great place to stay. Sun anytime it is out (a little cloudy this trip), private hot tub, table with umbrella and two lounge chairs. What more could anyone want.

Location is great. A lot of people ask about where we stay. In Key West location is everything. A half a block off Duval, a grocery store around the corner next to a great Chinese restaurant. What more could you want.

As far as the clothing optional pool and hot tub is concerned, discreet, pleasant and very calming.

Fun Place. Already booked for next year.

Room Tip: Guest house if you want to be near the community hot tub. Newer building if you want the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Well I know its pretty cold up your way.
Glad you were able to escape the polar vortex with your stay here at the Pilot House your "place in Key West' the Attic is unique with the privacy the view the Hot Tub.
China Garden for takeout is good A fav of mine Caroline's who deliver, I love their Salads. Next time you visit I recommend Salutes on Higgs Beach rent some bikes from us and dine on the beach this is a locals favorite.
Look forward to your next visit stay warm till we see you again.
Virginia manager Pilot house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This place is great. Of course it is clothing optional (we chose to stay clothed). Everyone was so helpful. The place is eclectic, which makes it very enjoyable. You are close to Duval St, but far enough away it is not too noisy--an oasis! Nice pool, nice hot tub. We had a great room in the front, which included the porch. Enjoyable!

Room Tip: room in front of victorian has porch. rooms in rear victorian quiet and has garden. top floor of vic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your visit to Key West. And happy to hear the Pilot house was part of that experience.
Only the pool and Jacuzzi are clothing optional the pilot house property is NOT Our guests are very respectful of each other by following the boundaries.

So close to Duval street and all the restaurants stores and bars you can ditch the car, walk everywhere or rent a bicycle and discover the rest of the hidden treasures Key west has to offer.

The king room in the front of the house is a special favorite with our regulars glad you enjoyed it.
hope you'll come back soon.

thanks for the review
Virginia manager Pilot House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I was surprised with a trip to Key West for Thanksgiving by my girlfriend (her first time to Key West), and she decided to spoil me at The Pilot House..What an amazing place..from the location, literally a half a block from Duval St and NO Duval St noise, to the beautiful room and amazing grounds..Loved the pool and secluded jacuzzi ;). When asked by the KW locals where we were staying, the response was always positive and we were told to tell the staff hello.. I knew then we had a keeper in The Pilot House..This week away will always be a special time for Kim and I and the staff was a big part of our wonderful week in Key West!! 5 stars for sure!!

Mark Chamlee and Kim Rush

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Ok, so your all snowed in up in Boston. New York is freezing and Chicago the windy city is blustery.
Heard a guest speak of temps in the 20s where they live... How can you not have a good time getting away from that and relaxing in the hot tub at the Pilot house? Treating yourselves to a romantic dinner on the beach at latitudes. Spending the day out on the water or just hanging by the pool here with us?
We're glad you found us and you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travelers trying to decide where to escape the cold up north.

Look forward to your next visit. Leave the cold behind and come back soon
sincerely Virginia manager Pilot house Key West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were in Key West with our 2 adult children. Staying in the condos above Square on Duval. We have stayed at Pilot House before and booked a cabana room for our anniversary night to get away from "the kids".Still a great place to stay. Loved the pool and lovely spa. Hopefully can come back again for the next anniversary!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed here on Dec. 3rd thru Dec. 8th 2013 and Virginia and Yvette were absolutely great!! Staff were friendly and courteous we loved it sooooo much we booked next year for 10 days!!! Location is perfect, the bikes they offer to rent are the ONLY way to get around Keywest. Highly recommend this place to anyone looking to feel at home this is it!!!!!! Thank you Pilot House for making us feel like family. Merry Christmas and have a wonderful New Year!!!!!!!!! Can't wait to return next December!!!!!!!! Hope Daniel had a safe trip back, and thank you again for recommending Gourmet Nibbles and Baskets , having fresh strawberries and pre-chilled wine delivered for breakfast was amazing !!!!!!!!!!! Richard and Ronnie are simply the best!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Room 13 has a private jacuzzi tub overlooking the pool, and it has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
This is a great time of year. Quieter than the usual crazy Key West.

Getting "dressed for Christmas with homes and businesses putting on their Lights and sparkle. Great weather and deals to be had in the restaurants and bars with bikes for rent here at the pilot house to get you around to everything.

Thanks for your review and Welcome to the family! look forward to your next visit
sincerely Virginia Manager Pilot House Guest House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilot House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot House Guest House

Address: 414 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pilot House Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodations in the historic Otto Mansion and pool side Cabana rooms. Full kitchens and kitchenettes available. Pool, spa and lush gardens surround the property tucked away in downtown Key West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilot House Guest House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilot House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.