We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequent Guest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilot House Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilot House Guest House
Save Saved
You added Pilot House Guest House to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   414 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Glen Carbon, Illinois
1 review
“Frequent Guest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We love it. Have been staying there couple times a year for 10 plus years.
Daniel & Virginia are always great about getting us checked in and everything we need.
Both the mansion rooms and the cabanas have their own charms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    47
    8
    5
    11
See reviews for
2
221
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Everything about the setting was relaxing from the tree lined streets to quiet pool area. We checked in with Virginia and she was extremely helpful in showing us the room and providing us with things to see and do in the local area.

Room Tip: Room #1, the King Size room, on the first floor, overlooking the street, was great. There was a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
This is a great time of year for a romantic get away. The weather is amazing, cooler after the hot sweaty summer but still warm enough for the pool or beach and ofcourse the garden jacuzzi. The restaurants are offering deals.
Glad you were able to take advantage of this quiet holiday time here in Key West and hope you'll be back to stay at the Pilot House Guest House again soon
virginia. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otego, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife I were there this May 8-14 and loved it. We stayed in the Cabana and the rooms are great. The staff there is great and will help you in any way they can.The pool is great too.Loved being right there almost right on Duval St. We are going back to do things that we did not get to do or see when there befor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Look forward to your next visit we appreciate you decided to stay with us again. The Cabana rooms are so popular everyone loves the size of the rooms and the bathrooms as well!
The euro shower is huge!
Thanks again for picking us for your next stay
virginia
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pilot House Nov. 28 and 29. It was our first time to stay there so we relied on the reviews here on TripAdvisor. We stayed in one of the 2nd floor Cabana rooms and we were not disappointed. The temperatures were a bit cool so we didn't spend much time in the clothing optional pool area. We did manage to get some sun from the second floor deck adjoining the Cabana Rooms and checked out the spa. I took a dip in the pool and met a couple from Mississippi, which was fine until he decided to talk politics and I left. Not sure why some people want to bring up politics with perfect strangers.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was great. The only criticism I would have at all is that the coffee was terrible. But it's a short walk to Pepe's or Blue Heaven where they pour plenty of hot, strong black coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lynnkephart, Manager at Pilot House Guest House, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thanks for the review. It has been a little colder this year, I have to admit it is a great change for me but I know you want warm swimming weather when you visit.

Glad you gave us a try while you were visiting Key West and Hope you'll come back again.
Maybe we can do something about the coffee? In any case You found a great place for breakfast Pepe's is a favorite of mine and there is also 5 brothers a bodaga on Southard street. With amazing Cuban coffee.
Look forward to seeing you again
Virginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent our birthdays at The Pilot House. The rooms were gorgeous, especially the attic suite with it's outdoor jaccuzzi! The location is convenient to food, shopping, and nightlife on Duval Street. Very private and clothing optional pool area was lovely. The staff were so helpful to all our questions. Overall this is a wonderful adult guest house offering a relaxing vacation. Definitely recommend to enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We preferred the Attic Suite. It gave a wonderful rooftop view of Key West. Very Romantic with its p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

In early November my wife and I made the trip to Key West and stayed at the Pilot House Guesthouse. We had great weather and really enjoyed the clothing optional pool and the hot tub. The only negative thing I can say is that there wasnt a whole lot of sunny areas to sunbathe in. If it were in the dead of summer I may have wanted the shade but it was in the low 80's which is perfect, if you are in the sun. Anyway, we had a Cabana room next to the pool and it was very nice and roomy . The bathroom was very large with a nice walk in shower and a jetted tub too. The Pilot House was very low key and very quiet at night. This made it a very relaxing. It is in a perfect location and once we parked the car we did not drive it the entire time we were there. I highly recommend the Pilot House Guest House.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We love this place. It has great managers. Daniel and Virginia really take great care of the guests. It is a great location just off Duval. We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub. The rooms are great several with private decks permitting very casual attire. It is close to all you could want so a car is not needed. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pilot House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilot House Guest House

Address: 414 Simonton Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pilot House Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious accommodations in the historic Otto Mansion and pool side Cabana rooms. Full kitchens and kitchenettes available. Pool, spa and lush gardens surround the property tucked away in downtown Key West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilot House Guest House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilot House Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.