We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Patio Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Patio Motel to your Saves list
El Patio Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   800 Washington Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Quiet setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

A little on the basic side, however, very quiet location, lots of patios to just sit around outside. Hotel is very near to the most southern place in Key West. Parking is free, and there was just enough. No coffee pots in the room, nor in the lobby. Good price.

  • Liked — Quiet and comfortable.
  • Disliked — No coffee service
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    147
    93
    42
    46
See reviews for
66
175
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA!
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2008

After reading terrific reviews, we were disheartened to find a property not worthy of any of them. Honestly, when we returned home I checked TripAdvisor to verify the hotel we stayed at was the one I had read about. Sadly it was. We didn't arrive with unrealistic expectations either.
* We expected a modest, little frills property. This was fulfilled.
* We expected cleanliness. This was NOT fulfilled. We requested a second cleaning after arriving, and although this request was granted, it was done with the same level of quality, which is to say "not much." Assuming a third cleaning would yield similar results, we headed to the store to get some clorox multi surface cleaner. Much better.
* We expected friendliness from the staff. This was NOT fulfilled. Perhaps the biggest disappointed came from the desk staff. Wow. Any number of unflattering adjectives can be used here. Pick one. Pick a few. They all will work.
* If the price works for you, then by all means take a chance and book a room. We never will again, at any price.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2008

This must have been our fourth or fifth stay at El Patio dating back many years and I am happy to endorse the many positive comments from previous Tripadvisors. But read these reviews VERY carefully: this place is not for everyone! It's a bit like staying in a museum of early 1950's decor and fixtures. Little has changed since we first stayed here and it was delightfully quaint even then. Everything functions and everything is very nicely kept up but nothing modern or fancy, unless you count the little bar fridges.

We love the secluded little pool area and the sunny deck up high overlooking the surrounding neighbourhood. Also the ceiling fans and fully-functioning louvre windows that allow for cross-breezes and freedom from air conditioining.

These same open windows, of course, let in the indigenous Key West sounds, most notably the endless chorus of roosters and the drone of scooters up and down Washington Avenue. You can't do much about the roosters but you could request a room that doesn't overlook Washington.

Even the posted rates are very reasonable by Key West standards and at least at quieter times, management has always honoured any coupon rates that we have come across.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

I have stayed at the El Patio at least a dozen times since I was a teenager with my parents. I LOVE the simplicity of the hotel- always clean, right near Duval, but not unoriginal like the Hilton. Yes, it's considered "minimal", but it totally embodies the KW vibe.

Since I was a returning patron, the woman on the phone gave my husband and I a competitive rate, and she even booked us the room where we stayed 5 yrs ago. The room was cool, clean, and just the way we remembered it when we arrived. It was cleaned daily while we enjoyed KW. Only complaint- no late check out after our last "hurrah" at Irish Kevins- could've used the extra sleep :)

Overall, I shall return!

  • Liked — It's still there (and unchanged) after all of these years!!!!
  • Disliked — Early check out
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2008

What a perfect trip we had thanks to the staff (Sarah and George) in particular were brilliant. My boyfriend had been in touch and with their help organised a romantic proposal and I cannot thank them enough for their recommendations. They are more than happy to recommend restaurants and bars etc.
The hotel room was lovely, clean and bright, and thank God for the air con. Yes, the bathroom maybe a little small, but who spends a great deal of time in there when there is Key West to explore. The pool area was brilliant and a great place to chill out. The court yard was really pretty and the roof terrace was great to have a drink on at night and watch the stars. No noise at night, nor cock crowing in the mornings. If there was one criticism it is that i had to go home.

I have no complaints at all and nothing but praise for this little gem of a place. Hopefully I will return soon for a honeymoon.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2008

Just returned from a 15 Days Trip to Florida where we,Company of 4, stayed for 2 Days in this Key West Origin :-))

Ben there for the 4th Time within 12 Years and NOTHING in there has canged since then....

The Staff was VERY FRIENDLY to us and we immediately got 2 Rooms Nr.14 and 15 which we had to pay USD 75,- each fot a Night what is absolutely awesome for KW ( was Wednesday till Friday)

Price, Location,Charme, Staff was absolutely Gorgeos.

Whta you have to know is, that the Bathrooms are SMALL and the Floor is Linoleum,not Carpet.
Looks and is abit old BUT CLEAN ! Was NO Problem for us belongs to the Atmosphere and fits PERFECTLY to KW .

Lots of Plants and a Roof Terrace complete the posiitve Character of this Juwel.

Go there,get your own impression and decide.... for 2-3 Nights PERFECT if you are not Mr/Ms PERFECT..:-))

Greetz

  • Liked — Location, Atmosphere
  • Disliked — Bathroom could be a bit bigger
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FRANCE / US
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2008

$150/night during the week end, I loved the place, we stayed 2 days. If you look for a palace don't go there, bed, rooms ... are standard. But if you look for a nice place to stay and meet very friendly people from the US or from other coutries this is a very good place. Nice & cute swiming pool, very nice penthouse at the top of the hotel to eat and enjoy your own beers and food. Warm and friendly place. Lovely.
Excellent atmosphere!

  • Liked — patio, Atmosphere, friendly neighbours, fiesta
  • Disliked — Air conditionning is noisy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Patio Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Patio Motel

Address: 800 Washington Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — El Patio Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Patio Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Patio Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Patio Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.