We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cypress House Hotel : Key West to your Saves list
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 5-Nights & Fun
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Wonderful adults only B&B with very large modern updated rooms. Breakfast was different each day. Much better than typical pastries and bagels. Breakfast burritos, sausage egg scramble, and breakfast egg/ham bagels were served on the different days we were there. Location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danishmom89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a recently renovated hotel in a central location for Duval Street and the nightlife of Key West. The staff were welcoming and friendly to us on arrival and at first glance we thought the property looked very attractive and characterful.

However, we were then shown to our room which was not in the main house but in a small outhouse at the back of the pool area, which was the smallest room we had stayed on throughout our holiday trip around the Keys. Whilst it was clean and modern, there were no coffee making facilities, no mini bar, a noisy A/C unit, and poor lighting. The safe was too small for the modern traveller's needs with all our laptops, tablets, phones and mobiles.

Whatsmore, we were awoken on the first night of our stay by a drunken local who attempted to break into our gated area at the back of the swimming pool and the sound of smashing glass very close by at 230am was rather disconcerting, though of course no fault of the hotel itself. We were later told that the guy was arrested by local police but of course we were understandably nervous on our second night's stay.

Breakfast was adequate and freshly served, and really the staff and their welcoming service were the best aspect of this hotel. If we were to return to Cypress House again, we would insist on staying in the main building which looked far more characterful and we suspect had larger rooms than the small swimming pool outhouse we were placed in.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in the main house and not in the swimming pool outhouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike280473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I loved it! We booked the trip for our 2nd anniversary and could not be more pleased with our stay. Their parent company made a mistake an overbooked us so we were moved to this property over a different one and if we ever go back to Key West, we will stay here again. The pool area was nice and the staff was very friendly. Breakfast each morning was great and the liming in the afternoon(happy hour) was a nice touch(especially since I read it had been canceled). Our room was huge and the bed was comfy.

One complaint I've seen about the street noise is true, BUT I only say that because I do not live in a city, I live a mile into a neighborhood so I have no clue what loud is for a city. If it gives you an idea, we were able to cross the street pretty much anytime without regard to traffic because the "busy street" others are complaining about had no cars in it!

I really have no complaints. We loved our stay and would recommend the property to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msterli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

From the moment we arrivied at Cypress House we knew we were in good hands. Scott at the front desk was awesome helping us get checked in and giving tips about parking and other information. The room was lovely, modern and antique combined, and very comfortable. We had a room with a balcony and it was great a night to sit out on the balcony. The complimentary drinks by the pool daily was also a nice treat that we weren't expecting and the daily breakfast was delicious and something different everyday. We would definatly stay there again next time we're in Key West.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

GREAT location, only takes minutes to walk to Duval street or the pier. The staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and updated. The only negative was that our room was on the second floor and the stairs are quite steep with no elevator. The free breakfast could use some help, same for the free snack of the day - however, something is better than nothing. The pool is small, but clean and refreshing. Loved the house kitty who suns all day down by the pool :-) If you want to be down by the "happening" bars, this is a great spot to stay, you'll be close enough to stumble home but won't have to deal with any of the Duval street noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachluvr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best place ever! The staff is the best. The room was spotless. So private and quiet.It is so close to everything, you don't need a car, we walked everywhere. Walk out your room and go just a block or two and you will be at Duval Street or the harbors, Mallory square, so much entertainment everywhere..But our inn was the best! Its decorated with beautiful tropical plants, our own locked private gate.We had a nice private deck with pretty patio furniture.The room itself was very pretty, not a speck of dust anywhere. The morning breakfast was perfect,the staff work so hard to make your stay perfect. We couldn't have imagined a better place. We love it there and are planning already to come back. We will only stay at the Cypress House in room 25! Thank You staff! John and Maureen McGraw from Ohio. April 5 through 9th. 2013

Room Tip: Room 25 is very private and quiet. Its very pretty. Perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maureen m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Cypress House is a wonderful B&B located just a few steps from Duval Street. It was quiet and peaceful. We spent two days the last week of March at the Cypress House and never heard a bit of noise from the street. The staff (Scott and Dennis) were wonderful and very accommodating. We had a package shipped ahead of time and it was waiting in our room when we arrived. Our King with a Porch was large with a delightful porch and sitting area where we enjoyed our morning coffee/breakfast and evening wine. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We had a King with a Porch room number 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank REWRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 47 in Key West
5.0 of 5 stars 1,740 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#36 of 47 in Key West
4.0 of 5 stars 2,028 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#6 of 47 in Key West
4.5 of 5 stars 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress House Hotel : Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Hotel : Key West

Address: 601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 47 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Cypress House Hotel : Key West 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cypress House Hotel is a historic, 22 room boutique hotel in the heart of Old Town, Key West, near Duval Street's famous bars & nightlife. You can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Sloppy Joe's, the beaches and other attractions. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895, which stand on a quarter acre of tropical gardens. The hotel is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped garden area that includes a 40 foot heated lap pool and many comfortable lounging areas. Historic Architecture & Modern Rooms. Free Upgraded Continental Breakfast served poolside from the beautiful house kitchen. Free In-Room Internet. Upscale Eco-friendly Bathroom Amenities. Relaxing Pool. Boutique Hotel. Pay Garage Parking Nearby. Walk To Duval Street, The Harbor & Beaches. Located In The Heart of Old Town, Key West. Modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe. Escape from the ordinary. Immerse yourself in the soul of Key West at the Cypress House Hotel. Adults Only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Cypress House Hotel : Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing