We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress House Key West

Save Saved
You added Cypress House Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cypress House Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Key West
Minnesota
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

GREAT location, only takes minutes to walk to Duval street or the pier. The staff was incredibly pleasant and helpful. Our room was very clean and updated. The only negative was that our room was on the second floor and the stairs are quite steep with no elevator. The free breakfast could use some help, same for the free snack of the day - however, something is better than nothing. The pool is small, but clean and refreshing. Loved the house kitty who suns all day down by the pool :-) If you want to be down by the "happening" bars, this is a great spot to stay, you'll be close enough to stumble home but won't have to deal with any of the Duval street noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    66
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
128
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best place ever! The staff is the best. The room was spotless. So private and quiet.It is so close to everything, you don't need a car, we walked everywhere. Walk out your room and go just a block or two and you will be at Duval Street or the harbors, Mallory square, so much entertainment everywhere..But our inn was the best! Its decorated with beautiful tropical plants, our own locked private gate.We had a nice private deck with pretty patio furniture.The room itself was very pretty, not a speck of dust anywhere. The morning breakfast was perfect,the staff work so hard to make your stay perfect. We couldn't have imagined a better place. We love it there and are planning already to come back. We will only stay at the Cypress House in room 25! Thank You staff! John and Maureen McGraw from Ohio. April 5 through 9th. 2013

Room Tip: Room 25 is very private and quiet. Its very pretty. Perfect!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Cypress House is a wonderful B&B located just a few steps from Duval Street. It was quiet and peaceful. We spent two days the last week of March at the Cypress House and never heard a bit of noise from the street. The staff (Scott and Dennis) were wonderful and very accommodating. We had a package shipped ahead of time and it was waiting in our room when we arrived. Our King with a Porch was large with a delightful porch and sitting area where we enjoyed our morning coffee/breakfast and evening wine. We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We had a King with a Porch room number 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed two nights @ the Cypress House on a trip down from Ft. Myers Beach. (we took the Key West Express)
The location of the C.H. is absolutely ideal, and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a Queen room (#13) which was very small but cutely decorated and remodeled, and it was very private, which was great. Room #13 has it's own gated deck adjacent to the pool area, but the fence is 6 feet high and solid, so we felt nicely isolated in our own little corner of the property. Breakfast was tasty, the service was friendly, although we were a bit underwhelmed by the "happy hour".........no big deal, we went in with no expectations for that.
One minor hiccup that we had was our smoke detector was chirping at us the first night in the room. We had to call maintenance at 11pm when we returned from Duval Street and they arrived very efficiently to change out the battery. Unfortunately, it continued to chirp intermittently for the rest of the night which was a little frustrating. I told Dennis about it in the morning, and he had a new one installed for us by that evening. It was nobody's fault, and was just a quirky problem that the staff took care of.
We rented bikes for the duration of our stay in Key West, which was ABSOLUTELY the best way to get around. They are more efficient than walking, so you can cover all the ground you need to cover to see everything, but there are no parking challenges that you would encounter with a car. We also rented an electric car for a half-day, which was kind of fun, but logistically it was a pain in the butt due to parking. Back to the Cypress House, they did a nice job and were priced similarly to other options we explored, and like I said originally their location is SO perfect.
If we return to Key West, we would not hesitate to stay at the Cypress House again.

Room Tip: Room 13, although VERY small was nice and private with it's own private fenced/gated deck which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amityville, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Cypress House is a very pretty, B&B that is convenient to walk to all. Nice and quiet (and no children!!!!) The staff (Dennis and Scott) were wonderful and very accommodating. Provided a nice continental breakfast and happy hour every day. The only negative might be that the housekeeping staff was not on top of refilling the necessities. But overall, a great stay and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed at the Cypress House in Key West the last week of March while we were in town with friends. The hotel was in a great location with easy access to Duval St. and Mallory Square yet just far enough away that you don't have the noise of the busy streets. The happy hour was great and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALPHARETTA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The perfect location for us. We walked 4 blocks from the Key West Express Ferry to this beautiful B &B. It was close to everything. The staff was so friendly and full of information. The room was clean and comfortable. Pool is small but adequate to cool off. Breakfast was OK. I have had better but it was still good. Happy hour was a nice touch too. Would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Room 9 has a private courtyard with chairs and table. Room 13 is a good location except you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Key West

Address: 601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cypress House Key West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cypress House is an historic Key West inn that is ideally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport, you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and other attractions. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895, that stand on a quarter acre of tropical gardens. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property that includes a 40 foot heated lap pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A continental breakfast and nightly social hour are included with your room. Accommodations at this Key West inn are tailored to adult couples. The property features deluxe Queen and King Guestrooms, each with a private bath. Cable TV, telephone, air conditioning and free WiFi is available in all rooms. The inn is AAA approved with three diamonds and is a Green Lodging property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cypress House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress House Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.