We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress House Key West

Save Saved
You added Cypress House Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cypress House Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Key West
bisbee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We spent a week at the Cypress House in February. The location is super. You can walk to anyplace you want to go. The staff at the front desk was always very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was always more than adequate, and we found that we never bothered to eat breakfast out. Our room overlooked Caroline Street, which can be a bit noisy sometimes. Having read reviews prior to out vist, I brought ear plugs which I only had to use twice. The room was spacious, but was lacking in some maintenance. The housekeeping staff didn't do the best job of cleaning the room either. The bathroom mirror wasn't cleaned a single time during our stay, and I could see other points in the room that were skipped over regularly. Overall we had a very pleasant stay. It did seem as though $300+ per night was a bit high for it though...but it was Key West during high season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Extra big rooms, we had a porch!! Excellent staff was very accommodating and was able to recommend restaurants and walking directions. Quiet location but a short wall to great food and Duval Street and all that entails.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for four nights and enjoyed ourselves. The location is great for proximity to the entertainment district. Many people get around on bikes and scooters, but there is no need to rent either at this location. The breakfast buffet is decent and they have a nice cozy pool area, but their is an iguana out there sometimes that can be a nuisance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent four nites at Cypress House and enjoyed our stay. Most of the staff were very helpful and very friendly. Dennis seemed to be a bit standoffish, and aloof to the guests. We found the area around the pool, to be a great place to relax after spending the day walking around Key West. No street parking but the city parking garage is nearby and the staff arranges for fee payment and window tag. We did not find street noise to be a major problem, since we did not have a porch room. The House is located a short three block walk to almost anything in Key West. Breakfast was enough to get the day started, and there was always plenty of tables available. The floors in our very big room could have used a good mopping!! A short walk from the shower to the bedroom and we found the soles of our feet to be very dirty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevierville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We rolled into town with no reservation for a place to stay. We used our tripadvisor app and were surprised to find an availability. Room was clean and comfortable. The only two draw backs were street noise and the porch lights stayed on all night which made the room too bright for me. I sleep better in dark quiet rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We recently spent three nights at Cypress house Bed and Breakfast. It is a lovely historic property and the staff are magnificent. We had reserved a King Room with a porch and by their own price list we paid more for a room with a porch. When we arrived, we were told that the porch was not really private and that anyone could use it...and anyone did...including at night when they rolled out of the bars. We also, coincidentally, had the room in front of the kitchen...at 7am we really needed no wake up call.
Despite the fact that this is a lovely property, the noise from others using the porch, street noise and the kitchen were really disappointing. If those things don't bother you, it is well located, close to Duval Street and in the historic district within walking distance to all that Key West has to offer.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a porch. Bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina G, Guest Relations Manager at Cypress House Key West, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Hi Deb6827,

Thank you for writing! Yes, you are correct that the King Rooms with a porch in the Grand Conch Mansion are meant to be private porches. This was a communication error on our part and it has been corrected. I am happy to hear that you did like our staff and thought the hotel was lovely. We do hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Traveled to Key West for the New Years celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay (12/30 - 01/02). I have visited Key West several times and have been lucky enough to spend NYE in town before. My spouse and I were meeting another couple and had booked this hotel back in October. At that time, we had explored many other lodging options such as condos, houses, boats, and other hotels, without much luck with availability. Cypress House was the only well-located, well-appointed, affordable hotel that we all agreed upon. Given my past experience in KW, I figured location was a big factor. Cypress House is VERY well located just two blocks off of Duval street, three blocks from the marina, and ~5 blocks from Mallory Square. While close to the party, the hotel did not get any of this noise. We requested a historic king room with porch. We were in room #21, a large ground floor room facing Caroline Street. Rooms were pretty standard - large living area at entrance with small table and 2 chairs. kitchenette area with sink, dorm fridge (not stocked), cabinet with minimal utensils, coffee maker with teas and coffee, large closet with luggage rack. Carpeted living area and tile bathroom. Bathroom was also standard - pedestal sink and tub with shower. Everything was very clean, plenty of towels and housekeeping came each of the 3 days we were there . The only thing I would note is the shampoo, lotion and soap were very small containers. We brought our own, so it wasn't an issue. We did not take advantage of the pool or breakfast during our stay. However, our friends mentioned that the pool was small and all chairs were "reserved" with towels by 8am. Despite the fact that we didn't take full advantage of the amenities, I will say that our favorite part of our room was the porch. There is a small table, 2 chairs and an ottoman for relaxing and perfectly located for people watching! From the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff, everyone was kind and accommodating. I would definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to staying at the Cypress House in the near future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Key West

Address: 601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cypress House Key West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cypress House is an historic Key West inn that is ideally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport, you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and other attractions. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895, that stand on a quarter acre of tropical gardens. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property that includes a 40 foot heated lap pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A continental breakfast and nightly social hour are included with your room. Accommodations at this Key West inn are tailored to adult couples. The property features deluxe Queen and King Guestrooms, each with a private bath. Cable TV, telephone, air conditioning and free WiFi is available in all rooms. The inn is AAA approved with three diamonds and is a Green Lodging property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Cypress House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress House Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.