We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the cost!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cypress House Key West

Save Saved
You added Cypress House Key West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cypress House Key West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Key West 3 Nights $50 OFF
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Key West
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not worth the cost!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

My first visit to Key West and this was THE detractor!! Beautiful weather, great restaurants were all offset with the anxiety of going back to the Cypress House at night. Over 300 a night is very pricey for a very loud, old and outdated property. I understand its high season and an old property, but ADJUST your pricing based upon accommodations.

We were in room 2 and told no other rooms were available. The bathroom looked liked it was remodeled in 1940. We were disgusted to find the sheets dirty. The floor board broke while we were staying as well. My wife was concerned about noise since we were right next to the Kitchen and were told nobody ever complains. This is a complete lie it was noisy every morning. If you have people staying above you like we did, be assured to hear there every move. Dennis was responsible for giving the inaccurate information.

I have spent just as much at 5 star hotels. Joke and you should be ashamed of your rates. It should cost less than 200 a night at this place.

On the plus side Eli was very nice and probably should be running the place.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricKeyWestInns, Multichannel Marketing Director at Cypress House Key West, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear DominickT,

Thanks so much for writing! The beautiful Grand Conch Mansion at the Cypress House dates from the 1890’s and is historic, not old. We have done extensive renovations on all of our rooms, including a fresh décor with new and modern finishes in the bathrooms. Room two also has a gorgeous stained-glass window dating to the 1920’s which adds such charm to the bathroom.

Our housekeeping staff is top-notch and prides themselves on providing excellent service and a clean and inviting room. You were the last to arrive for check-in that day and never requested a room change during your visit; we would have been happy to accommodate your request as other guests checked out. The room above you has a new, thick carpet and pad, making it very difficult to hear anything from the guestroom below.

We are very proud of our hotel and the beautiful restoration we have done blending modern amenities with historic architecture. Perhaps that is not the style that is best for you. Thank you, again, for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
126
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This was our first stay at the Cypress House since it changed owners. We love the location but found the "new" happy hour and the breakfasts very subpar.

The carpeting and other flooring in our room was filthy. We mentioned it to management and they cleaned our carpeting immediately. This should have been addressed before we arrived, as the green carpet was visibly brown.

We stayed in Room 21 of which we enjoyed the porch every morning and evening, however there should be a switch for the two porch lights - even with all of the shades closed tightly our room remained very bright all night long making it difficult to get a good nights sleep. The bed was okay but nothing to write home about after our 5th night both our backs were starting to get sore. The bathroom was very small, not much room to put your "stuff", 2 people couldn't get ready at the same time.

All said, we did enjoy our stay but think there is plenty of room for improvement, especially at the price we paid.

The wireless internet was very limited, it only worked in certain places at certain times, which means not in my room, when I wanted it to work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and I think it was just ok. We will not go back to this hotel when we visit Key West next time.
The Good
1. Close enough to walk to just about everything
2. King room (#17) on second floor in the pink house was large with large bath and recently updated.
3. Water and lemonade/limeaid always available by pool.
4. Drink and appetizer available daily by the pool.
5. Continental breakfast available daily by the pool.
The Bad
1.Minimal furniture to put your things on in the room.
2.Bathroom sink would barely drain. Small sink space and no extra counters to put your bathroom items on. Difficult for 2 people to get ready to go out.
3. Be ready to climb 2 or more stories of old outside stairs with your luggage if in this buiding.
4. Advertised on their website as "ADULTS ONLY", "BEST FOR COUPLES". We were greeted by a toddler eating breakfast poolside our very first morning. We were not happy about this, since we were assured this was an adults only place. We picked this place as we were not traveling with our kids.
5.We tipped the housekeeping staff and they still forgot to fill the toliet paper and kleenex. We did call the front desk (as we were totally out) and they did bring it right up.
6. They advertise a heated pool, but it was ice cold.
7.On our last day our experence at the continental breakfast was just one incident that sealed the deal of not being thrilled with this place. I had watched 2 other guests toast their croissants in the toaster, unfortunately mine got stuck in the toaster. I mentioned it to the employee helping out, Eli,and he went crazy. Ranting and raving that they can't go in the toaster, that maintence has better things to do than deal with this stuck in a toaster, that I was going to burn down a 200 year old house. It was very ridiculous and my husband and I were very ticked at this employee's reaction. I solved this issue myself - walked over and got a long kitchen utensils and poked the croissant out of the toaster. Then I looked at the employeed and said - problem solved, sorry to have caused you such an issue.
8. On our last day another bad experience. We asked the man at the front desk, Scott, if we could check out at 11:45 instead of 11:00 in the morning. He told us it was not possible to do that, as his new guest were already calling in to get in their rooms. We explained to him that we were only asking for 45 mins more and that check in for his new guests wasn't suppose to be until 3:00pm we also found it strange that this front desk person had never heard of Carolines on Duval or The Porch on Duval, but he was suppose to be running the front desk of a hotel that is only a block away from these attractions.

Room Tip: If your room faces Simonton it will be very loud. Be aware of amount of stairs you may have to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I travelled with 2 other couples to Key West over Christmas (Dec19-26) for a get away from the snow. We have been to Key West 3 times prior to this over the last 10 years.

The Cypress House was chosen as we stayed at The Lighthouse Court on a previous trip and it was a very nice hotel & part of the same chain of hotels.

We were extremely happy with the Cypress House. The staff there was very friendly from check-in to check-out. We enlisted their help several times for boat rentals, wheelchair rental & recommendations for activities. The hotel has a nice (albeit basic) free breakfast every day, served from 8-10 in the courtyard which is a nice way to start the day. They also have Happy Hour everyday around the pool at 5pm with a different selected drink served free and unlimited every day. This was lots of fun and the staff made the event a party each night.

We stayed in room #17, it was a huge second floor room and had a king bed, flat screen TV and a beautiful bathroom with a walk-in glass shower that would fit 6 people! The room also had a nice front porch to chill One of the other couples we travelled with stayed in room #1 and it was also a large beautiful room with a great big front porch where we met for drinks each afternoon to watch the world go by.

The hotel's location is absolutely perfect!! Only 2 blocks from Duval and centrally located close to all the action on the water. The only issue may be that this location can be loud (due to morning traffic) however earplugs and/or white noise from the AC does a great job. They also have a parking area for scooters, which we rented for the week at the rental location one block from the hotel.

I highly recommend the Cypress House for couples especially. Lots of fun, great location & friendly staff, plus a little architectural history thrown in for fun.

Cheers!
Martin (Dec 2012)

Room Tip: Room 17 is on the second floor, corner unit, big! Room #1 is ground floor, nice front porch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedminster, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

When you travel to Key West during their high season, you are unfortunately captive to the inflated prices. Had a hard time finding a place in Key West that didn't requrie a 5 night minimum just before New Years. I'll list the pluses and minuses, but I'd be more apt to rate this higher if I didn't spend $350+ a night.

PLUSES
- Location: Close enough to the action but far enough removed that it's not too noisy.
- Room: King room (#6) on third floor in main house was huge ... 20' x 14'. Bathroom was large as well. Both seem recently updated.

MINUSES
- Room was so huge it needed more furniture. No desk or anywhere to sit if you need to do anything. Tiny fridge. One small dresser with TV on top of it.
- Bathroom sink was very slow to drain. Mentioned to front desk. I think they came to fix it but a day later it was slow again.
- The housekeeping staff was more friendly than either of the two front desk people we encountered. Upon our arrival, no map, no info about the Inn ... basically charge our credit card adn we're on our own.
- Pool area is tired and needs some updating. Much of the wood decking/stairs needs replacing.
- No area to lay out by pool. Lounge chairs are located on a second floor sundeck but right outside someone's room with French Doors. So either you're looking right into someone's room or they're looking at you unless they close the drapes.
- Pool was freezing cold ... if it's heated it wasn't working.

Note about parking. You can pay through the Inn and they give you a pass for a parking deck three blocks away. Not that far of a walk and you have in and out priveledges so if you want to go somewhere with your car, it's easy enough to do.

There are clearly better places to stay at this price.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the third floor (#6 and #8) of the main house are very large with good size bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My husband and I look for travel diversions during the holidays. Key West and Cypress House provided just what we were looking for. Festive decorations, friendly staff, and laid back Lady Bug, the resident cat, made us feel right at home for Christmas. The inn's location between Duval Street and such nice restaurants as Azur and Michael's allowed us to skip a rental car and walk everywhere. Thanks to all at the Cypress House for a week's delightful stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house downstairs. Even though our room faced the street, the air conditioning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just returned from my second stay at Cypress House, my first since it was remodeled.I loved it so much the first time that I was a little apprehensive; I thought it might have lost some of its distinctive character, along with four of its five resident animals.

I was not disappointed.

By coincidence, I got the same room I had on my last trip. The room retained its big, breezy charm, but had updated furniture, including a very comfortable bed and antique wardrobe. The bathroom, too, had been updated with new fixtures and a mammoth shower.

Cypress House remains friendly and accommodating. The staff was helpful and cheerful and seemed genuinely pleased to have us there. I know that's how the hospitality industry is supposed to work anyway, but it doesn't feel forced there.

The common areas, including the pool, the extremely welcoming patio, and the breakfast room, were always immaculate. My husband and I aren't the tidiest creatures on the planet, but housekeeping did a fine job of keeping our room sparkling, as well.

The location is pretty much ideal. Duval and the Bight (or whatever they call that wharf where Schooner's Wharf is) are each about a five-minute walk away. It's less than a block from a convenience store and a nice little coffeehouse/bakery. Other good restaurants and shops are within easy reach in any direction.

Don't let the proximity to Duval scare you: the noise doesn't reach Cypress House. Their no children, no pets policy also helps to keep the place peaceful and serene. (There is a resident cat, Ladybug, but she's a quiet, friendly girl.)

In short, Cypress House is so comfortable and welcoming that it feels like a second home, and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main house to keep your trip to the pool and patio short.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cypress House Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress House Key West

Address: 601 Caroline Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cypress House Key West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cypress House is an historic Key West inn that is ideally located in the Old Town area of Key West. Just one block from Duval Street and a few blocks from the seaport, you can walk to Margaritaville, Mallory Square, Key West restaurants, nightlife, and other attractions. This former estate property includes two Classic Bahamian Conch Style houses and one Grand Conch Mansion, dating from 1888 and 1895, that stand on a quarter acre of tropical gardens. The inn is set inside a lush, tropically landscaped, gated property that includes a 40 foot heated lap pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A continental breakfast and nightly social hour are included with your room. Accommodations at this Key West inn are tailored to adult couples. The property features deluxe Queen and King Guestrooms, each with a private bath. Cable TV, telephone, air conditioning and free WiFi is available in all rooms. The inn is AAA approved with three diamonds and is a Green Lodging property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cypress House Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cypress House Key West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.