We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An uncommonly cool place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis House
Save Saved
You added Atlantis House to your Saves list
1401 Atlantic Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Bicycle Use!
Ranked #2 of 97 Key West B&B and Inns
Arvada, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An uncommonly cool place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Largely based on Trip Advisor reviews along with the very descriptive presentation made by the owners on the property's Website, we chose to stay at Atlantis House for 7 days/6 nights on our first trip to Key West. From the time we reserved space to bidding Steve and Kayla good-bye, we enjoyed a 5-star experience that will stand with our best memories of guest homes in the North America, the U.K. and Europe. If you're looking for privacy, eclectic design, cleanliness, sumptuos comfort, a location close to (but not in) Old Town, and last but not least, personal attention to detail by the owners and a genuine interest in the objectives and desires of your visit, look no further than Atlantis House.

We stayed in the Garden Suite, the smaller of the two available suites which has a daybed, dresser, closet space and small television in the fore room, a comfortable queen bed, i-Pod docking station, closet and small kitchenette in the middle area, and a sky lit bathroom with shower, commode and jetted tub in the back room. The quiet, wall unit air conditioner in the middle room was more than sufficient to keep all three rooms comfortable. Kayla is a designer and has decorated the suite with artwork, rugs and linens from places around the world. If anything was unnecessary for our likes, it was the television as we turned it on, not once.

We met our fellow guests from Arizona who stayed in the Master Suite and who showed us their digs. Larger than the Garden Suite with more amenities, but decorated with a similar sense of design and attention to detail and comfort, the Master Suite is adjacent to the Garden Suite and shares the tree and plant-canopied deck just outside the doors of both suites. What a delightful, quiet and cozy space this was to share conversation over wine and cheese with our neighbors after our respective dinner experiences on several evenings.

Atlantis House is approximately two blocks north of White St which divides Old Town Key West in the south from New Town. Atlantis House is across the street from the pool, beach and Atlantic Ocean side of the Key West. It is just a short walk to the town pier and a short bicycle ride to the restaurants and attractions of Old Town. Atlantis House has two sets of old fashioned "fat tire" bicycles that guests may use to get around. We used them many times rather than our car to ride into Old Town.

A major part of the enjoyment of our trip was learning about the abundant marine life in the Keys and the remarkable effort and regulations put in place to protect and sustain it. We took an all day sailing charter recommended by Steve and Kayla (Danger Tours) that took us to the Key West National Wildlife Refuge where we snorkeled in the shallow reefs and kayaked through the mangroves. To say there is abundant marine life in the Keys is an understatement. Fish of every size and color, rays, dolphins, turtles, birds, sponges, and other sea and plant life make one think they’re in a Garden of Eden. Obviously, this is not by accident. What an appreciation we gained by speaking with locals and visiting, twice, the Florida Keys Eco Discovery Center.

We also went deep sea fishing south of Key West with Steve (Captain Steve) on his boat. For a couple of novices, we did alright. Steve was patient with our learning experience and was very much the professor. We appreciated so much his sharing of proper fishing techniques and strategy to catch them. On the all-day trip, we caught some pinfish for bait, a couple of fighting groupers that we returned to the sea as they were close to, but not of legal size, and a bunch of yellowtail snapper that were of legal size and also fun to catch. Of all the things we did in Key West, the activity we probably enjoyed the most was going fishing with Steve.

We asked Kayla to prepare our "fruit of the sea" for dinner, which we enjoyed on our last evening as guests. For dessert, Kayla made the best Key Lime pie we ever tasted. Not only did Steve and Kayla prepare a memorable dinner, they served us in their home and made us feel so relaxed. We will not soon forget their generosity and kindness.

While Key West was our destination, Atlantis House was a principal part of our unforgettable experience. We would definitely recommend and do hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
214
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colonia, New
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Atlantis House, lovely get away. Not to be confused with a b&b this is a guest house, although arrangements can be made for meals at a cost. We opted to take advantage of the many fabulous dining venues. The garden suite was lovely, very spacious and decorated nicely with all you'd need for the perfect romantic getaway. Outside they have a beautiful garden with sitting area canopied and surrounded by beautiful trees flowers and nature at its best. Take advantage of the opportunity to go out on an all day fishing trip with owner and captain, Steve. You won't be disappointed! My Husband, son in law and daughter said it was the highlight of our trip. Kayla's key lime pie HONESTLY the best in all of Key West! Hope to return just maybe not in august a little to hot for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our 15th Anniversary.We have been on many trips in those 15 years and not one has come close to this one.Not only are the owners so nice and hospitible, the room was spectacular.Very clean,beautiful decor, and very romantic.The outside is just as beautiful!! We loved Key West (having spent our honeymoon there) but I have to say it was the Atlantis House that made the trip so special.We will definately be back again!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are a jackpot!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went to Florida for a week, but unfortunately only had time for one night at the Atlantis House back in January. It was THAT good, that I still needed to write this review and give Kayla and Steve a 5 Star Plus. From the moment we communicated to our departure, everything was perfect. As soon as we arrived we were awed by this place. We stayed in the master suite, which was superb, super romantic, spacious, clean, stylish and artistic. As soon as you enter, you know you are transformed and you never want to leave again.
We highly recommend it. We travel a lot and do not often come across a gem like the Atlantis House.
Make sure you try the Key Lime pie, you will never want to eat another after Kayla's!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Awesome place to stay and the price is a great value! We stayed from a Thursday to a Thursday and got to stay in the Garden Suite on the last night which was a treat. The main Suite is HUGE, and we felt like it was one of the most posh places we have ever stayed at. Steve and Kayla are great hosts, Kayla even treated us to some homemade Key lime Pie which was the best I have ever had.

We took advantage of Steve and his boat and chartered the ECO tour. It was an excellent day of site seeing and learning about the Keys. We snorkeled and swam off a remote living reef.

Steve and Kayla were great at sharing their dining experiences in Key West and steered us to a Tapas place that served the best Beef Wellington I have ever had.

We biked the whole trip thanks to our hosts providing us with some wheels. No car needed and they picked us up at the airport and returned us at the end of our stay.

They were always busy but should you get a chance to stay with them take advantage of it, it will be pleasant and memorable!

A big thank you to Steve and Kayla for making our 10 year Anniversary AWESOME!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying at the Atlantis House is like visiting old friends and getting to experience the "real" feel of the island firsthand. My husband and I have been visiting the keys and Key West for years (this was our third visit since last October) and we were looking for an experience to share with our college age daughters that would introduce them to the beauty of Key West away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. (Old Town is just a very short bike ride away for those that still want that Duval Street experience) Our family stayed in both suites. The rooms are professionally deocrated and are very spacious and elegently appointed - sheets, towels and rugs are of the best quality. Kayla and Steve's artistic flair is everywhere. I kept finding new things in the room to admire. Storage is ample and I loved that there were plenty of hangers in the closet. Each morning, we were served the most magnificent breakfast featuring Kayla's fruit platter that is truly a work of art. She changes it up every morning and on our last day, she surpised us with her amazing key lime pie! As we relaxed under the shady palms, Steve shared with us the history of his magnificent garden where there are several sitting areas for privacy. Steve's love for all things green is rivialed only by his love for all things marine! We took the eco-tour to Boca Grande and snorkeled right off the beach. On our way to Boca Grande, Steve shared his wealth of information about the history of the area, the marine life, waterfowl and the shipwrecks. We anchored ashore and experienced beautiful white sand and wildlife as we strolled looking for shells and birds and snorkeled off the beach. I recommend the Atlantis House 100% . We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Atlantis House was everything and MORE than I expected it to be. From the lovely decor of the Garden Suite, to the enchanting allure of the garden all the way to the private ocean front pool and the always accessible bicycles--this vacation proved to be one of the most incredible trips my fiance and I have ever been on together. It had been a long 4 years since we had been able to get away so we were really looking for something special and we ABSOLUTELY found it here. Kayla and Steve couldn't have been more accommodating, they were so lovely and friendly--I don't think there are better hosts on the entire island. We even charted Capt Steve's boat for a day of fishing and afterwards he and his gorgeous wife Kayla cooked our catch (a 28'' grouper). It was the most SPECTACULAR meal of our entire trip--good music was playing, the drinks were flowing, the food was DELICIOUS and the company terrific. We had such an amazing stay we're already planning a couples trip with our friends for sometime in November!!! I can CONFIDENTLY say this is the BEST guesthouse/bed & breakfast on the ENTIRE ISLAND and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an especially romantic and unique place!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for the heart warming review and pictures you sent! We truly enjoyed getting to know you better on the Fishing trip and over Dinner. Great catch on the Grouper! Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Capt. Steve and Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis House

Address: 1401 Atlantic Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis House is a romantic boutique guesthouse with only 2 suites along the beaches of Key West steps away from the Ocean and 1 block from the Key West Marine Park and White Street Pier. Perfect for honeymooners and anniversaries. The owners, Captain Steve and Kayla (LMT & NMT), offer snorkeling, eco-tours, sunset cruises, dolphin watch and fishing trips. The only guesthouse in Key West that will prepare your fresh catch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.