We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation House Ever!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantis House
Save
You added Atlantis House to your Saves list
1401 Atlantic Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tour Key West FREE Bikes
Ranked #3 of 94 Key West B&B and Inns
New Port Richey, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation House Ever!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our 15th Anniversary.We have been on many trips in those 15 years and not one has come close to this one.Not only are the owners so nice and hospitible, the room was spectacular.Very clean,beautiful decor, and very romantic.The outside is just as beautiful!! We loved Key West (having spent our honeymoon there) but I have to say it was the Atlantis House that made the trip so special.We will definately be back again!!

Room Tip: Both rooms are a jackpot!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
220
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We went to Florida for a week, but unfortunately only had time for one night at the Atlantis House back in January. It was THAT good, that I still needed to write this review and give Kayla and Steve a 5 Star Plus. From the moment we communicated to our departure, everything was perfect. As soon as we arrived we were awed by this place. We stayed in the master suite, which was superb, super romantic, spacious, clean, stylish and artistic. As soon as you enter, you know you are transformed and you never want to leave again.
We highly recommend it. We travel a lot and do not often come across a gem like the Atlantis House.
Make sure you try the Key Lime pie, you will never want to eat another after Kayla's!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Awesome place to stay and the price is a great value! We stayed from a Thursday to a Thursday and got to stay in the Garden Suite on the last night which was a treat. The main Suite is HUGE, and we felt like it was one of the most posh places we have ever stayed at. Steve and Kayla are great hosts, Kayla even treated us to some homemade Key lime Pie which was the best I have ever had.

We took advantage of Steve and his boat and chartered the ECO tour. It was an excellent day of site seeing and learning about the Keys. We snorkeled and swam off a remote living reef.

Steve and Kayla were great at sharing their dining experiences in Key West and steered us to a Tapas place that served the best Beef Wellington I have ever had.

We biked the whole trip thanks to our hosts providing us with some wheels. No car needed and they picked us up at the airport and returned us at the end of our stay.

They were always busy but should you get a chance to stay with them take advantage of it, it will be pleasant and memorable!

A big thank you to Steve and Kayla for making our 10 year Anniversary AWESOME!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying at the Atlantis House is like visiting old friends and getting to experience the "real" feel of the island firsthand. My husband and I have been visiting the keys and Key West for years (this was our third visit since last October) and we were looking for an experience to share with our college age daughters that would introduce them to the beauty of Key West away from the hustle and bustle of Duval Street. (Old Town is just a very short bike ride away for those that still want that Duval Street experience) Our family stayed in both suites. The rooms are professionally deocrated and are very spacious and elegently appointed - sheets, towels and rugs are of the best quality. Kayla and Steve's artistic flair is everywhere. I kept finding new things in the room to admire. Storage is ample and I loved that there were plenty of hangers in the closet. Each morning, we were served the most magnificent breakfast featuring Kayla's fruit platter that is truly a work of art. She changes it up every morning and on our last day, she surpised us with her amazing key lime pie! As we relaxed under the shady palms, Steve shared with us the history of his magnificent garden where there are several sitting areas for privacy. Steve's love for all things green is rivialed only by his love for all things marine! We took the eco-tour to Boca Grande and snorkeled right off the beach. On our way to Boca Grande, Steve shared his wealth of information about the history of the area, the marine life, waterfowl and the shipwrecks. We anchored ashore and experienced beautiful white sand and wildlife as we strolled looking for shells and birds and snorkeled off the beach. I recommend the Atlantis House 100% . We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Atlantis House was everything and MORE than I expected it to be. From the lovely decor of the Garden Suite, to the enchanting allure of the garden all the way to the private ocean front pool and the always accessible bicycles--this vacation proved to be one of the most incredible trips my fiance and I have ever been on together. It had been a long 4 years since we had been able to get away so we were really looking for something special and we ABSOLUTELY found it here. Kayla and Steve couldn't have been more accommodating, they were so lovely and friendly--I don't think there are better hosts on the entire island. We even charted Capt Steve's boat for a day of fishing and afterwards he and his gorgeous wife Kayla cooked our catch (a 28'' grouper). It was the most SPECTACULAR meal of our entire trip--good music was playing, the drinks were flowing, the food was DELICIOUS and the company terrific. We had such an amazing stay we're already planning a couples trip with our friends for sometime in November!!! I can CONFIDENTLY say this is the BEST guesthouse/bed & breakfast on the ENTIRE ISLAND and I strongly recommend it to anyone looking for an especially romantic and unique place!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Atlantis House, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Thank you for the heart warming review and pictures you sent! We truly enjoyed getting to know you better on the Fishing trip and over Dinner. Great catch on the Grouper! Looking forward to your next stay with us!

Capt. Steve and Kayla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have stayed in several bed and breakfast places in Key West and I can rate the Atlantis House as one of, if not the best, small places to stay on the island if you want privacy, comfort, beauty, great hosts, additional offerings and close proximity to the largest beaches. We stayed in their Master Suite that has been decorated with really cool furnishings from the past and present, has high ceilings, great lighting, a kitchenette, a large jacuzzi tub, surround sound for music or TV, plush towels and a small, lush tropical outdoor space created by the host that is only shared by one other suite. There is a very private pool available that was perfect for us because the winds during our visit made the beach an unfriendly place. The hosts, Captain Steve and his wife Kayla, are a treat in themselves and we didn't get to experience Kayla's kitchen creations, but have heard that they are incredible. Check out their Facebook page to see pictures and read about their adventures on the ocean and at their beautiful guest house in Paradise. We will always consider staying there again when we go back to do all the things that remain on our Key West bucket list.

Room Tip: Only two rooms to choose from and we didn't get to check out the Garden Suite but pictures on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

As others have said, this is a wonderful place to say in Key West. We stayed in the Master Suite - a huge room with a high ceiling and a dream bathroom. The furnishings were all of the highest quality - hardly the motel standard junk you'll find in most places. Replacing this motel standard, you get solid beautifully made bed, (super king size), dresser, stools (for the wet bar) and chairs found in various antique stores by one of the owners - Kayla who clearly is a talented designer.

The location is between Higgs and Smathers beaches over at the quiet, south side, of Key West as opposed to the bars and all night riot that marks a good deal of the north end of the west side of the small island. We much prefer living in the quiet and having to travel a bit to the noise when we want it than living within the noise and having to travel to escape it. Give me this location over the constant party that's a mile away at the north end of Duval Street.

Besides the surprising size of the room, the luxury of the bathroom area and the fine furnishings, we were amazed and pleased by the little things which elevate this guesthouse to well above the norm. These little things are, for example, sheets which exceed in quality the costly high thread count sheets we use at home and the huge Turkish bath towels actually sourced by the owners while in Turkey. It includes much better than usual soap, shampoo and conditioner as well as a dozen other small touches none of which alone makes or breaks a guesthouse but which together makes the Atlantis a remarkable experience.

I can't stop without mentioning the gardens which are plain astounding. There are many places to sit or recline in those gardens where you can enjoy the tailored nature and the plantings which, to us from New Mexico, were spectacularly exotic.

We've stayed in other places which technically are the Atlantis Guesthouse's competition but none are a patch on this place. It is THE place to stay in Key West.

Room Tip: The hot tub in the Master Suite could double as a swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantis House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis House

Address: 1401 Atlantic Boulevard, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 94 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis House is a romantic boutique guesthouse with only 2 suites along the beaches of Key West steps away from the Ocean and 1 block from the Key West Marine Park and White Street Pier. Perfect for honeymooners and anniversaries. The owners, Captain Steve and Kayla (LMT & NMT), offer snorkeling, eco-tours, sunset cruises, dolphin watch and fishing trips. The only guesthouse in Key West that will prepare your fresh catch! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantis House Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.