We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rare jewell..Almost don't want to let secret out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marrero's Guest Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Save
You added Marrero's Guest Mansion to your Saves list
410 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 92 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Westminster, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A rare jewell..Almost don't want to let secret out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I think the lack of reviews is because those that have stayed there don't want to let this place to get too well known. We stayed in the cabana house by the pool and the clothing optional pool area was " interesting" to say the least. Beyond that, the happy hour was a fun and a way of meeting the other guests while enjoying a beverage on the open air front porch. Located 1/2 block from Duval Street. You can walk everywhere which is good since parking is at a premium.

Room Tip: The rooms with shared baths are very small and more suitable for singles than couples. The cabana ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    51
    21
    13
    11
See reviews for
10
294
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Port, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

My wife and I first stayed at Marrero's 9 years ago on our first wedding anniversary. Nine years, 2 kids later we try every year to get away and leave the kids wife Nana and Papa. In August of 2013 we went back on our 10th anniversary for 8 glorious days. The place was just as charming as it been 9 years earlier. It's old, with a great history and filled with some really beautiful antiques. The staff is great! Unlike some big hotel chains where the staff is nice but fake, at Marrero's, Steve and rest of the staff are real, they make you feel like family. Breakfast and happy hour are really great times and everyone shows up to sit and talk on the large front porch to have a cup of hot coffee in the AM and a cocktail in the PM. Steve is a great host and recommended several places to eat and things to do. They were all incredible. If I sound a little over the top happy with the place it's because it was the most relaxing, best vacation my wife and I have ever had. The other guest were really nice. We made friends that we still keep in contact with and are planning a trip back with them if possible. Steve does a great job making everyone feel at home. I travel 15 days per month for business and stay in Marriott's and Hilton's all over the country. I have done this for 14 years so I know what it's like to stay in some really nice places. Marrero's is not new (it's on the historical registry, filled with beautiful antiques) they do not have room service, no one is going to bring you a fancy drink with an umbrella in it while you are laying at the pool, no valet parking and no one will turn down your covers and put a mint on your pillow. Thank God! If that is what your expecting, please do us all a big favor and stay somewhere else. If you are looking for a place that is charming, beautiful and relaxing to recharge your mind, reconnect with your someone special and meet some really nice people then I would highly recommend Marrero's. Steve, we will see you this summer! Tracy and Kim

Room Tip: Tell Steve about what you expect and he will guide you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Steve was like an old friend. The place is exactly what you want, fancy and casual with the best location to walk around Key West. All the guests were there to enjoy themselves and the vibe was friendly. Most of the people at the pool were naked that day and again later at the pool after the "Duval Crawl". Happy Hour on the front porch is not to be missed. It was a great way to get to know people before heading out on the town. We stayed in #12 out by the pool. It was awesome!

Room Tip: As I remember, #12 was called the pool house. It is out by the pool in the backyard and has a door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We were jet lagged and zonked, and Steve pulled us right into the scene at Marrero's. There are lots of merits to the historic property, but what makes it special is the vibe. We made friends, and when does that happen on vacation? Seriously, all walks of life. Gay, straight, New York, LA, Germany.

Nightly happy hour is a trip. Sat on the porch heckling people and making friends.

Naked pool policy: we swam but didn't partake in the nudity. Didn't really seem like an issue but probably not for you if you don't want to see naked middle aged peeps.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Just got back from Key West and as usual had a wonderful stay at Marrero's! Steve is always a treat to see. We also got to meet his wife Jackie who was also a pleasure to meet. They have a new housekeeper/assistant. Skyline! She is one if the most outgoing person ever! Always willing to help in any way!
We stayed in 22 this time. Almost forgot to mention this us our 3rd time in less than 9 months. In the past 17 and 23..All are beautiful rooms. Not one is the same!
We love the location! Easy walking distance to just about everywhere! But what we love the most is the type of people it attracts. Everyone is usually very friendly! Couples ages usually range from the forties to upward. We have met several people that we are now friends with! There is nothing better than Happy Hour on the Veranda! Steve has what ever beverage you prefer!
The pool is clothing optional but do not let that sway you from staying! It is whatever you are comfortable with! Some suits some not! The pool is the perfect spot at any time of the day or night! Some sun and some wonderful shade as the sun moves around! At night, it is most relaxing after lots of walking and after a wonderful dinner somewhere!
We basically just love this place! And would recommend it to anyone that wants to plan a get away to Key West! Most people we have met have returned several times!! If you want a unique experience give it a try! You may just fall in love!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I won’t stay anywhere else!
The location is super, the accommodations are great but the people are the reason I wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Key West. Steve and Jackie are really nice hosts, skylee is a friendly assistant and they seem to attract guests that are just and nice and as much fun to be around as they are. I stayed at Marrero’s for a weekend earlier this month. On Sunday morning I did something dumb and hurt my knee, despite the fact that I had already checked out Steve and Skylee let me use one of the chairs by the pool, got me bags of ice and watched over my luggage until later in the day when I could walk again. I don’t know what I would have done without them.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed at Marrero's for a week in early January. Since the first time we stayed there, it is the only place we will consider. One year it was booked so instead of staying someplace else. we changed our dates. It's that good. Fantastic location. Nice clean rooms. Heated c/o pool. Plus it has what other hotels don't have....a STEVE. Great host who really cares. He provides a very good breakfast and you have to go to happy hour. More good news is that Skylee is back and helps keep the place immaculate. And if you need anything, she will get it for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marrero's Guest Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marrero's Guest Mansion

Address: 410 Fleming Street, Key West, FL 33040
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Marrero`s Guest Mansion Hotel Key West

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marrero's Guest Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.